We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the middle of south Westland”
Review of Lake Paringa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Paringa Lodge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot in the middle of south Westland”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ken and his wife were great hosts We only ended up at this idic location due to. the accommodation up at fox and franz being booked out. Ended up great for us. We even got the boat on the lake and caught a trout !!! Budget prices good fair value spot Clean great value for a family of 5

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here one night in studio. Accommodation is basic, but everything is in place as expected. kitchnette equipments were old and tired, the main is, it was cold and damp. Heating facilities are not good. But the location is beautiful, kind of staying in wilderness, there is no nearby town or shops , so its mandatory that we either cook ourselves or bring some food along with us. Rooms were clean and tidy. I would suggest this is good place to stay during summers

Room Tip: Not suitable for winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank water s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Basic accomodation, but the price reflects that and that is what your expectation should be.
What a stunning location. They have built a T shaped jetty into the Lake edge and we sat there with some wine, heaven. The owners are very helpful, the place is very peaceful.
Stock up on food before you get there as it is wonderfuly remote.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staghunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Lake Paringa Lodge for one night on a road trip from Queenstown up the West Coast, as we had decided that we could manage to aim beyond Haast, but didn't want to arrive in Fox Glacier late in the day, so this seemed to be the ideal half-way point between Haast and Fox. I booked online the day before, and communications from the owners were very prompt and helpful, advising us to make sure we brought all our own food as there were no local shops or eateries. In hindsight, it would have been best to buy a cool-bag and stock up in Queenstown before we left, as the little grocery store at Haast had no fresh fruit or meat, and we ended up visiting the service station at Haast Junction and the little store at Haast Beach before we rounded up all the ingredients for our evening meal.

The lodge was just off the road at Lake Paringa, and was set on the edge of the lake. The cabins themselves were basic, but they were very clean and comfortable and had all the essentials. The location was wonderfully quiet and in the morning the lake looked spectacular in the rising fog.

We found the owners very helpful - the boss came and lit the barbecue for us when we couldn't figure it out - and happy to give touring advice. We had a "semi self-catering" cabin, so we used the communal kitchen. It was big and well-equipped, and there was an adjoining lounge with a TV if we'd felt the need to watch it.

This is a budget option, not a resort, but offers good value and clean, comfortable lodgings that would ideally suit families and keen fisherman. We got to Fox Glacier in about an hour, so for us, it was the perfect spot to spend the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was everything we wanted. We had 2 adjoining units with 2 doubles and a single bed in each between 2 adults and 3 kids. 1 kitchen and 2 bathrooms were more than enough. The units were clean, tidy and simple. The grounds are nicely kept and the backdrop of the lake is beautiful, even stunning at times. For a base in South Westland it is hard to go past this place for relaxing simplicity. The owner, Ken, was very accommodating and friendly and added to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining units if you can't all fit into one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

What a beautiful location to recharge the batteries and partake in some fly fishing !
This Lodge ain't the Hilton, but what it lacks in creature comforts it more than makes up for in good old fashioned charm and serenity.
Very clean, very tidy, the units are very roomy and the beds comfortable...and oh so quiet !
Set right on the edge of gorgeous Lake Paringa it's gotta be an anglers El Dorado !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
#5 of 6 in Fox Glacier
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Paringa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Paringa Lodge

Property: Lake Paringa Lodge
Address: State Highway 6, Lake Paringa, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing