We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clearwater Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This bed and breakfast is a working farm. The farm is located just off Cook Flat Road, along a driveway that leads to the main house. As I drove down the driveway I noticed a goat and as I approached the house I was greeted by a barking dog that turned out to be very friendly. The door was open and peacocks roamed around the yard. I knew my stay here was going to be very different to anywhere else.

I felt at home at the Clearwater B&B, host Jacinda made me feel very welcome here. I was welcomed with a hot drink. The house is very nice inside and surrounded by wide open spaces with excellent views. My double room was a good size and comfortable with a flat screen television. There is a shared bathroom and shared toilet for guests. Guests can also use the shared areas such as the living room and kitchen. I really felt as though I was staying with friends and felt very relaxed and comfortable.

The farm is located on Cook Flat Road which intersects with the main road running through Fox Glacer town from the B&B to Fox Glacier town is about 2 minutes drive. In the other direction, you can drive to Lake Matheson. The access road to the glacier itself is about 5 minutes drive through Fox Glacier.

Whilst here I also got to meet other guests which for me is what travelling is all about. Breakfast the following morning included fresh bread, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and fruit juices.

If you are happy being around dogs and other animals then I would definately recommend staying here for something different to staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

There isn't very much review on the net about Clearwater B&B in Fox Glacier. We found this place from Fox Glacier website, and decided to go with them after recommendation from Minnes0taGal.

The property is very close to Lake Matheson, but around 3KM from the township. It is not that far, if you have your own transport.

The host, Peter and Jacinda are both very friendly. The rooms are clean and have spectacular view of the farm and mountain range. There is one bathroom and separate toilet to be shared by 3 rooms. Continental breakfast was provided.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We loved our time at the Clearwater Bed and Breakfast. This place is nestled into the mountains and is a true gem. Be sure and check out my pictures, they will speak for themselves. Highlights include comfortable lodging, a kind family and lots of animals to interact with (7 peacocks, horses galore, mules and more).

We appreciated the uniqueness of this place, as it was so different from the other accommodations we stayed in throughout New Zealand. Yes, this is a real working farm! While you're there, be sure to soak in the beautiful view and enjoy some incredible food at the Matheson Cafe, a 5 minute drive up the road.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minnes0taGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 14, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.9 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
429 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Bed and Breakfast

Address: 298 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Hotel Class:2 star — Clearwater Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clearwater Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing