We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean compact motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good clean compact motel”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed here 12th-13th of feb on our car tour of the South Island, rooms are compact but equipped with a kettle and toaster (this may seem like a small point but sometimes all you are looking for is a cup of tea/coffee and some toast and butter etc) on leaving the lady in the motel office kindly supplied us with a "what to see" A4 sheet for the next section of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garryap17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    158
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
46
246
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed for one night on our road trip around the South Island. This is a brand new Motel with new looking rooms which we loved.. Very clean room with a nice bathroom and plenty of bench space! The host was very friendly and she helped us with some info about Heli flights.

I would stay there again. Value for money was not brilliant but considering it's quite new and has all the facilities needed, I wasn't unhappy with the cost. I would reccommend people stay here if stopping in Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skramit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Bella Vista is one of a series of a hotels on the highway in Fox Glacier. The rooms were modern and comfortable, albeit a little small.

The management was also very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alki_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here on recommendation from a friend when everything else was booking out fast (peak season). We had been staying in 5 star so for us it was a basic room but with everything you need. It’s been recently upgraded so the décor is modern. The bed was firm – as we like it; tv, fridge etc.

We went on the helicopter ride from Fox (highly recommended!!!) and found Fox less busy with as so many tourists as Franz Joseph. The glacier is also a lot better at Fox. I would say that there is more atmosphere / restaurants at Franz Joseph.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Like the Ibis hotel chain, the rooms are clean, minimally equipped and very small.
Overall, not very good value for money.
The compact studio we stayed in for the first night would really only be suitable for a non-claustrophobic single traveller.
We upgraded to a larger room for the second night but we still had to wash our dishes in the bathroom sink.
The lady on reception could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

When we arrived we had booked a compact room but we were upgraded to a larger room as we were staying for two nights. Apart from being larger it also had a specially fitted bathroom/wetroom suited for people with disabilities. This is a new motel and the bedroom was very comfortable, and smartly furnished, which was a good job as we experienced torrential rain for two days while we were there. It was well equipped and spotless, with a useful kitchenette. There was also a laundry on site. Wifi was available at a charge. The restaurant next door (Plateau) serves really good meals. The motel host Bill was very helpful while we were there, supplying umbrellas for example and lots of tips about the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed one night and despite the room being quite small, it was very clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The owners were very friendly and offered great advice about the area. Fox Glacier is a small town and this is definitely a great accommodation option.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing