We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at this motel on our trip north. Although the room was clean, the heater in the bathroom blew up when it was turned. This caused all power to go off. Management came quickly to reset the power but advised that he couldn't replace the heater. No offer of a room change was given just a 'shoulder shrug'. Will not stay with this group again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 429 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very clean and tidy little motel. Parking right in front of our door. Very close to cafes and booking office for tours etc. Good comfy bed etc. But the biggest and most pleasant suprise for us, was the little walking track into the forrest, right next to the motel. We were told to check it out after dark and wow what a suprise. It was like a little fairy land with thousands of glow worms everywhere. Well worth booking the motel just for that, if nothing else.

Room Tip: Yes.. do check out the glow worms. Ask reception if unsure of the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROYROGERS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent one night at the Bella Vista. It cost $150. To be honest, we have paid less and had better quality. This accommodation is fairly basic and a little bit tired. Although it must be said that the bed was very comfortable and we had one of our best nights sleep as a result. As ever in NZ, the staff are very friendly and helpful and we also had the benefit of free wifi. OK for a night but wouldn't stay for longer although it is an handy base for the Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. You may also consider travelling a further 20 minutes along the road to Franz Josef where there is a greater choice of accommodation and better quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is part of a chain, but you'd never know it by the warmth and attentivness of the welcome. I stayed here on the way south and made a point of returning on my way north due both to the friendliness and value. Clean and comfortable rooms with lots of facilities. Good internet. The walks adjacent are a must do.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms may suffer noise from folk above - and if your fellow guests are hearing impaired C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doistayorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a delayed flight and long drive via Arthur's pass, it was wonderful to arrive at Bella Vista. We called ahead to inform Bill we would be checking in late and made sure we could access our room with no problems. Enjoyed a 2 night stay in this wonderful wee place. The room had plenty of heaters which came in handy after being soaked up the Fox Glacier. Nice wee room with everything you could need. They gave us recommendations of where to eat and that Lake Mathieson was a must.. When checking out Bill gave us a list of good places to stop on our drive to Queenstown, many that we would of probably just drove past.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abz_sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Immaculate, clean and convenient. Location is very Central with a quality cafe adjacent. Hosts warm, friendly and welcoming. Beds very comfortable. Spa pool an added bonus. We stayed over the Easter break and the convenience & quality of the Bella Vista chain is just what a weary traveller needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a convenience stop as we had been riding for several hours. The cost was rather overpriced and as we arrived around 9pm the availability and selection of food was minimal in town. Ended up buying a anti pasta platter crackers, dip and chips for dinner with a couple of bottles of cidar from the small supermarket in town. The only 2 places we could see to eat at looked VERY overpriced. I'm not a scrooge, but I object to paying almost $40 for a steak and an average restaurant. They are definitely targeting the tourists pockets, which annoys me being the average New Zealander just trying to have a holiday. Double the price of restaurants in Dunedin.
The room was nice but basic. Right by the road and very noisy.

Room Tip: The rooms are right by the highway so if youre a light sleeper this place wont be for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
10 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
388 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $110 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing