We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Fox Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived in Fox Glacier without any accommodation and checked out 4 of the motels. We picked Bella Vista due to the the location and they offered the best deal. Our room was very well appointed and was spotlessly clean. We were given 200mb of free internet which was really great and it actually worked. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Glad we picked Bella Vista and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 418 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We found the hosts Bill and Jill to be extreemly helpful, they assisted us with local and onwards travel must see sights and things to do. They were willing to help us book activitys also. They also provided a modern and very tidy room. The room had a microwave and a sink / mini kitchen but only one chair and one place to sit at bench to eat. Not so good for dining together.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midaz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Despite having travelled NZ several times I’d always given a wide berth to the Bella Vista chain. Officially rated between 4 & 4.5 star they appear to be everywhere but the austere nature of the buildings has always had me looking elsewhere. They just don’t have any kerb appeal at all and, with this in mind, we were a bit dubious about this one. The hot tub clinched the deal for the booking (love a hot tub!).

I don’t know if it would apply for the whole chain but the Fox Glacier Bella Vista was a bit of a surprise. Immaculately clean (sparkling!) and well equipped. The décor won’t thrill you (lots of grey and white) but will give you confidence that you are staying in a well-run establishment. It’s all modern, functional and gleaming. Apparently rated as a 4.5 star I really felt it was a 4 or, if we weren’t dealing with NZs spasmodic Qualmark ratings, a definite 3+ elsewhere (there are so many variances with the Qualmark ratings!).

It isn’t a luxurious hotel but is more than adequate to stay for a night or two. The proprietors of this one were absolute gems; a husband and wife team with smiling faces and great local knowledge. They will tell you what to see, when to see it and how to get there. They were really impressive.

As far as Fox Glacier goes it appeared to be one of the better establishments but, if we were going again, I’d probably stay in Franz Josef over Fox. Franz just appeared to have a lot more going on for the tourist and, with the exception of the glacier trek and one or two hikes, there isn’t much else to keep you occupied in Fox. Only one general store and hardly any dining options. If you want to self-cater then do your shopping before you get to Fox!

Whilst the hot tub clinched the booking we didn’t end up using it as you had to pay extra to access it which at first I thought was a bit steep but, ultimately, it would cost them considerably to keep a tub hot in such a cold climate. For the same price as an hour or two in the hotel hot tub you could actually pay for entry to the really awesome hot pools in Franz Josef so that’s what we did. It was a magical afternoon. We would really recommend that any visitors do this.
 

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been in Fox Glacier many times and stayed in different places. Bella Vista is one the best in Fox Glacier. Clean and tidy room, good location where just next by the center of Fox Glacier. Friendly staffs and good service. Thanks Bill.

Room Tip: I would more like to stay up stair because I can see far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urchinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed in the studio room for 2 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and hot water for bathing was available. Location was convenient, easy to access different locations in Fox Glacier but then again, it is a small town after all.

Downsides were firstly, there was only one trash can and it was in the toilet, pretty inconvenient if I have some thrash to throw and I was in the bedroom. Second is that they could have increased the free wireless capacity in which only 200 mb of data was given.

Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexacsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having stayed in Fox glacier three times, in hotels and motels that were rather lacking, I was very pleased to find a modern motel at last. The others I have stayed at were all somewhat behind the times, but this one is clean and well managed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John_M_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tidy and clean room, well equipped and cosy. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even helped us to plan the rest of our journey and arrange booking at the next destination, so we also stayed in Bella Vista at Wanaka. Highly recommended and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrishnanVarikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
367 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,414 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $108 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing