We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely homestay, don't miss it”

The White Fox Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Fox Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 8 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Jane and Gary made us so welcome in their home which is within walking distance (2 minutes) of all the restaurants etc. in the village. You feel so relaxed. We agree with all the recent comments about a comfortable,clean room and ensuite, lovely daughters and very well behaved pets. They have excellent knowledge of the area and Jane's carrotcake is the best I have ever tasted.If you're looking for a homestay this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bairnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

Jane and Garry are very friendly and make you very welcome. We had breakfast with their daughters and the dogs make a fuss of you or leave you alone as preferred. They have a very good knowledge of the area, making their advice very useful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrystroudUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the White Fox for two evenings. The room and ensuite were spotless and the breakfast was tasty. The thing I loved about my experience was that I felt like I was visiting friends. Jane, Gary and their two little girls were a real pleasure to meet and get to know. Jane and Gary gave helpful suggestions on dinning and activities around the area. If you are interested in meeting an actual New Zealand family then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I stayed in this B&B back in February 2009 and it was just great! The family is very welcoming. Jane and Gary gave me advices where to go, arranged a helicopter flight up to Fox Glacier (which was awesome!). The room is clean and very nice.
Their daughters Meaghan and Isla were very nice too. If you like kids, they enjoy you playing and chatting with them. If you don't want to, I'm sure, they would leave you by yourself.

It really was one of te bes places I've stayed during my four weeks in NZ and I definetly would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worlddiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Our hosts were actually away for a family event and in place were our hosts parents! They made us feel right at home as we arrived after a long day of sightseeing! They have one room available featuring a queen size bed in a very comfortable and spacious room!
Lots of places to dine in the area, which is just a short walk to the downtown area. We had home made bread with our continental breakfast, very delicious! Lots of sightseeing in the area. We enjoyed great fellowship after our dinner with our gracious hosts! A great place to stay on your trip!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were referred to the White Fox from another B&B in town. With only 1 bedroom (ensuite) for let, our stay was a wonderful immersion with the family! The bed was the most comfortable out of any I slept in in NZ, and the hostess so nice and welcoming. Quiet, clean, affordable, and a lovely stay. I will say, if you're not a fan of children, or want to keep to yourselves, this place may not be the right spot; you're one of the family as the kids are waking up, getting breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsttimeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

From the moment Jane opened the door we felt welcome and part of the family. Jane and Gary are wonderful hosts with heaps of knowledge for the local area. They welcome you into their home and without any pressure you are welcome to join them and the family in thier lounge.
We arrived and it was pouring with rain and we had not wet weather clothes. In no time Jane had sorted us out with coats so we were able to go and explore. We were rather wet when we got back, but it was no problem and she even dried out our shoes.

The bedroom and en suite are immaculate and spacious with lovely touches. Breakfast is plentiful and you wake up to the wonderful smell of freshly baked bread.

We would highly recommend this B&B homestay.

Julie and Val
England

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JandVEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 11 in Fox Glacier
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 11 in Fox Glacier
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
418 reviews
9.6 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Fox Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Fox Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fox Glacier | PO Box 82, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the warmth & hopitality of a genuine NZ family home. Gary is a 4th generation local & we have considerable knowledge to assist our guests. We offer an easy to find location. Your room has a superior comfort bed, quality linen, electric blankets, TV & modern ensuite. Wake to the smell of fresh baked bread & enjoy a generous Continental breakfast. We share our sunny home with 2 young daughters, Meghan & Isla, Tussock the Border Collie/Labrador Cross dog & Irish "The Boss" the tabby cat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing