We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B with a Magnificent View!”
Review of Reflection Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reflection Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My sisters and I stayed at Reflection Lodge just for one evening back in February. But, when we pulled up along the driveway and saw the view of Mount Tasman reflected in the pool in front of her home, we were awestruck!! Magnificent view of the snow capped mountains. Raelene was very welcoming and accommodated us by taking a ton of pics with the beautiful backdrop! She then offered up a wonderful suggestion for dinner.....Cafe Matheson. The Cafe also had stunning views of the mountains and had outdoor seating. Our rooms were very comfortable. Only suggestion would be to add TV's to the rooms. Sometimes you would like to watch television in the privacy of your room. In the morning, Raelene served a delicious breakfast. Then, all to soon we had to leave this wonderful B & B to venture to our next destination!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvsmith551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Reflection Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed one night with Raelene and we found the place is stunning and we're welcomed.
Raelene's garden got fantastic view to the mountains and the garden and plants are very well maintained.
We loved the queen room we stayed with our solo-use bathroom, although it's not an ensuite. The bedroom got beautiful garden view and the bed is very comfortable.
The breakfast usually starts at 8am but we went to lake Matheson to take the pictures and went back around 9am. Raelene cooked breakfast for us and it was the best poached egg I ever had.
The most exciting part is: you don't need to go anywhere else, just in Raelene's backyard you can get the amazing sky full of stars. We took pictures of the Milky Way and stars and it is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellexu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed with Raelene for only one night but wish we had stayed longer. Raelene was extremely welcoming and her home is beautiful, in a stunning setting. We were greeted with a cup of tea/coffee and homemade cake which was just what we needed after a long drive. Our room was beautiful with a garden view and patio doors, and a large en-suite. Everything was spotless and the bed very comfy! Next time we go to Fox Glacier we will definitely stay here. It is well located between the main township and Lake Matheson and Raelene has a lot of useful information about the area. Breakfast was also great, with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

When our party arrived we were greeted warmly by Raelene and offered coffee and homemade cookies. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. For breakfast we were offered fruit salad and yogurt, followed by egg on toast and more eggs and or toast if we wanted it. We were only there for 2 nights and didn't spend a great deal of time at Reflection Lodge but what time we did, Raelene was both friendly and knowledgable about the area. The view from her house is stunning. In the evenings we found a couple of nice places, which suited us and our budgets, to eat in. Our party enjoyed their stay at Reflection Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just spent two nights with Raelene at the Reflection Lodge, and it was great! Raelene greeted us warmly and immediately made us feel part of the family with a cup of tea and cookies. Our room was very comfortable with a huge private bathroom across the hall. Breakfasts were substantial with freshly laid eggs from the chickens outside. All in all, a great stay and great chats with our new Kiwi friend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Raelene make you feel at home! In front of Fox glacier with a great view! You can enjoy a very charming house, with spacious and clean rooms only minutes away from heli-hikes. We loved our stay and the full family at times around was very friendly.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank 3frenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice view and sheep. Our mother tongue is not English and we found it in the treatment. The only place where we exchanged years (new year) had our own bedroom. Breakfast was poor and they service cold coffee.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Leena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

I am terribly disappointed to read your comments. First off, I am left confused on your remark regarding the sheep. I feel you may have this place confused with another, as if you refer to other guest’s photos that show the view, you can plainly see there are no sheep.

I have been welcoming guests from all around the world since 1993 and I pride myself in making people feel welcome, regardless of their mother tongue.

I’m sorry to read you found your breakfast was poor. If you had any special requests, you could have asked and I would have been happy to accommodate. I have never received negative feedback on breakfast. I make fresh tea and coffee as soon as guests sit down for breakfast.

In light of all of the above, I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
362 reviews
12.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
370 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflection Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflection Lodge

Address: 141 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $110 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflection Lodge offers panoramic views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, New Zealand's two highest peaks reflected in a private lake. Hosting since 1992 and pride ourselves in friendly and homely hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere.Arrive as a guest and depart as friends! Families very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing