We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Great Views”
Review of Reflection Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reflection Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Great Views”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed with Raelene during our New Zealand trip in December 2011 and had a great time. The location is excellent as it is a bit outside the immediate bustle of the town but ideally located for all activities. Raelene was great regarding her recommendations for restaurants and activities or any other help required. She and her family really make you feel part of the family - which makes all the difference! Her home baking by the way is some of the best and I have made sure to pick up the recipes!

Room Tip: There is only one ensuite room although the other room has a private bathroom across the hall - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sw972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at Reflection Lodge for one night in November 2011 along with my daughter and son-in-law. We regret that it could not have been longer. The location is excellent for the town where we had dinner on the evening of our arrival. Raelene provided a very generous breakfast the following morning. Unfortunately, it had to be a hurried one as we had booked an early morning walk on Fox Glacier. We would have liked to have spent more time chatting to Raelene and relaxing in her lovely, comfortable home. Her local knowledge was helpful and we found her to be a charming and fiesty lady. Believe the website; the views are stunning! Sandee C, Cambridge, UK

Room Tip: Both bedrooms (one being en suite) face the lovely garden and have a quiet, open aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reflectionlodge, Manager at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words very much appreciated.
maybe next time to foxglacier you will be able to stay longer .
It is always so much fun when you meet like minded people who enjoy a good laugh in life
keep buying lotto tickets

Raelene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Four of us stayed with Raelene December. We are still talking about it. The accommodation was first class, her house and its environment are lovely but what we remember is the evening meal she cooked which was wonderful and very generously priced. Along with the cooking she chatters nonstop and had us laughing for most of the evening. She is a real character and in a blink I can recall her, the food and the house. Stay there if you can.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have done a lot of travelling around the world and always look for accomodation with difference. If you are after some real New Zealand culture, this is the place to find it. The Lonely Planet describes this lodge as a 'funky 70s style ski lodge where you could blink and believe you were in a James Bond movie'.This is so true. The style of this impeccablly kept lodge by the host Ralene Tuck gives this accomodation quality. Ralene has made her home open to guests and her hospitality makes your stay that one step further. The view is to die for, the lodge quiet and Ralene is like that 'aunt everyone loves'. The homestyle cooking is beautiful with fresh fruit, vegetables and eggs direct from the gardens. On top of this you have the added excitement of the arrival and departure of helicopters which Ralene and her family have a passion for. If you have a husband or partner interested in air flight this is the accomodation for you both.
Ralene's recommendations are succinct and she is able to fine tune her advice to the individual needs of her guests and their personalities. Look out the concierge of the Waldorf Astoria and any ex bond girl!

Room Tip: Book ahead as this accomodation is often heavily booked in Summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatHen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reflectionlodge, Manager at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
What can I say about that Review!
For starters It made me Laugh
Thank you very much I really Appreciate your kind words
Warm Regards Raelene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I can't find enough superlatives to say about this fantastic place. We arrived as strangers, but within a matter of minutes I felt we had known Raelene for a lifetime. There were no barriers to break down, we simply fell into an easy conversation which lasted from the moment we arrived until we we sadly had to take our leave after staying for three memorable nights. .
The fun, the laughter and the chatting over wine, food and numerous cups of teas and coffees (I bet you remember the morning the 'Coffee war' nearly broke out Raelene !!) will stay with us forever. This is guest hosting at its finest.
We ate a superb meal with Raelene and her friend Elaine on our first night, when we were introduced to whitebait for the first time.
Our room was excellent, comfortable and spotlessly clean with patio doors out into the garden.
Despite arriving in cold, sleety weather on our first evening, the next day dawned brilliantly clear with stunning reflections in the pond in front of the dining room. Within ten minutes of us getting up, Raelene had organised a helicopter to pick us up on the front lawn to fly us around the glaciers and to land for a walk in the snow. A morning and a trip to remember for a lifetime.Having being whisked away so quickly, we returned to one of Raelene's marvellous cooked breakfasts.
We walked to Fox Glacier, around Lake Matheson and visited the Franz Josef glacier too during our stay. The Kiwi Experience in FJ is well worth a visit and also support their conservation work with endangered species.
Both Lake Matheson cafe and Plateau cafe and bar provided us with good evening meals, but our abiding memories will be of the hospitality and friendship we were given by Raelene. How I enjoyed donning an apron and making her some dumplings for the stew she was cooking one evening ! Mustn't forget the lovely Beastie who had tummy tickles ad infinitum !
When I think of Reflection Lodge I wish we lived closer to visit again ! Thank you so much Raelene.

Room Tip: We were in the lovely ensuite room, but the other accommodation looked equally as good with a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
thank you for the lovely photos and comments 2 cooks are a good idea . thank you again for the lovely dumplings to go on top of my venison casserole . I hope to visit your part of the world soon and have again a good old catch up and give your dogs the same loving Beastie Got
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

As per other reviews Reflection Lodge has fantastic views, the lake on the property is stunning especially when it reflects back a view of the mountains. Our ensuite room was spacious, fresh, comfortable and very clean (really important to me when staying somewhere). It didn't have a tv but that was not important to us, we weren't in NZ to watch tv anyway

Location is good, a 2min drive from Fox Glacier town.

Raylene is very talkative and friendly, a nice and pleasant host and the breakfasts were pretty good also! We took her up on her restaurant recommendations and both were good, the cafe/restaurant by Lake Matheson was our favourite

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Raelene offers a very welcoming and professional bed&breakfast. The accommodation is clean and spacious. The location is beautiful. Raelene provides a very good breakfast and knows a lot about the local attractions and history, and about the South Island. She happily provides you with information and makes bookings when you request it. The vieuw is stunning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
12.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflection Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflection Lodge

Property: Reflection Lodge
Address: 141 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflection Lodge offers panoramic views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, New Zealand's two highest peaks reflected in a private lake. Hosting since 1992 and pride ourselves in friendly and homely hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere.Arrive as a guest and depart as friends! Families very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing