We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay at Fox Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and was happy with our choice.

Service - Friendly welcome at the reception by Stephanie and proceeded to explain the local attractions plus directions. Very helpful and easy to deal with.

Value - Reasonable and standard price but we did get 2 double bed and 1 single bed for 115 a night. Can't complain but only 2 of us here :)

Sleep quality - Got 2 great night of sleep in a warm bed and comfortable pillows.

Cleanliness - Everything was tidy and clean. Very impressed with their cleanliness.

Locations - Slightly out of town centre but got a great view out of our room plus close to Lake Matheson. Besides, everything is close in Fox Glacier so nothing wrong with the location.

Rooms - See above.

Overall - A nice place to stay and would definitely recommend it to others if they plan to come to Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Mount Cook View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 191 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and thought the motel was excellent. The staff were really polite and helpful, our room was lovely and big with a small kitchen for us to prepare our own food. The motel is about a 2 min drive from the main shops and restaurants which made it really peaceful and quiet with some spectacular views. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Fox glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, enjoyed trips to Fox Glacier, Franz Josef Glacier, Lake Matheson. Comfortable, clean, rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Views from room amazing. Would definitely recommend, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was quiet chilly and extremely pleasant. There is hardly any noise and the food was great! The staff were very friendly and kind. We had a great time and really enjoyed staying there. The view was fantastic and to die for! When we were there, in November, it was spring so one day when i was enjoying a peaceful stroll, it started snowing! My family were so excited since it was our first time seeing snow fall!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Anjali2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and furnished reasonably well. Location was great as it was just outside the Fox Glacier township, on the road leading to Lake Matheson. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Turned up late on an afternoon with a family of 7 they gave us 2 units at a reasonable price for 2 nights. The owners were very friendly and very helpful, the units were in very good order and well presented. A pleasant and enjoyable stay. If you are in Fox give it a try its 5 mins drive from the village.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived here last minute as a family of 4 adults, 2 children and a baby. The owner was lovely and showed us 2 units to suit our needs. The larger unit had a separate bedroom for the children, which was lovely. The units were clean and spacious and the location, though a little way out f e centre of Fox was peaceful and relaxing.
The beds were comfortable and the smaller of the 2 units that we stayed in had a spa bath, which was lovely.
The owner was also very helpful with knowledge about the local area and helped us to book trips to the glacier and gave recommendations about the local places to eat.
Overall a lovely stay, I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
362 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $90 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing