We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming owners and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming owners and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night,found the rooms warm,clean and comfortable. No problems connecting to wifi in unit.When the clouds cleared there were stunning views of Mt Cook and Tasman. Few minutes drive into township

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gilln27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    91
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The owners are lovely people who make guests feel very welcome. We appreciated the free Wi-fi but had to sit outside our unit in the cold to use it - nice sunny afternoon so that didn't bother me too much. The unit was spacious for a family with a lovely outlook. Some of the dishes in the kitchen were a bit unclean (not washed properly by previous guests) but problem quickly solved by giving things a onceover before use.

The only negative that did annoy me was that the outside light was on until after midnight. It was right outside our door which was opaque glass with no curtain and the room was so bright I could not get to sleep. Not all rooms have a light right outside, it was just this particular room. It would be good if that light turned off by 10pm or if there was a wooden door instead of glass.

The heat lamp and fan in the bathroom did not work properly so it got dripping wet from the steam in there.

Overall, it was an OK place to stay for a night - I am happy to overlook the minor issues when I receive warm and friendly service which we most certainly did.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank verygenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our second visit here - this time, a last minute decision. Room was clean and warm. Owners friendly. Fresh milk was welcome. Plunger coffee provided. Only issue was outside light going on and off all night - not sure why. It shone through the back door and we couldn't block it out. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is probably a 5min drive from the town centre making it sit amidst rustic ranches spotted with cows and sheep - an idyllic setting to spend your time at Fox's Glacier while most likely waiting for your Glacier Walk tours scheduled for next morning.
The motel units are provided with all kind of amenities you could think of (bed heaters, kitchen amenities, walk-in shower etc) . There's a cozy lawn with tables and chairs providing for a nice tea session while watching the misty peaks of Mt. Fox and the ranches ahead.

For NZD 150, this is priced a bit above the average, but definitely better than the congested barracks like motels found at the town centre.

Room Tip: Try the motel units at the farthest end of the compound as that comes with a lovely driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We rolled into Fox Glacier township late and were referred to Mount Cook View Motel for a 2 bedroom apartment. The view from the main bedroom was jaw dropping and ditto from the lounge room; snowcapped mountains against a stunning rural landscape. The apartment was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. Bathroom featured heated towel rails, a spa bath and a shower.The hosts were helpful and friendly and gave us an excellent rate in consideration of our late arrival.

The Motel is superbly situated to explore stunning Lake Matheson, which is just down the road and has easy access to Fox township for food,etc. You would need your own car to access both, but a road trip is the best way to see this area. One kilometre out of town is the access walk to the foot of the Fox Glacier which is a wonderful walk and from the township of Fox you can organize more adventurous activities like heli hiking and scenic flights. A fabulous place to stay in a wonderful location.
Allow at least 2 nights to take everything in.
Don't be put off travelling in NZ's winter. We had 10 days straight of brilliant blue skies, no wind and every road was flanked by snowcapped mountains against a blue, blue sky. Magic.

Room Tip: Request an inspection to ascertain whether you have the bedding configuration to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

When we arrived in Fox the weather was beautiful, with great views from the motel. The room was a good size and clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. In the middle of the night i started raining torrentially and didn't let up all day. Our Glacier walk cancelled but we headed to the hot springs in Franz Josef which was a good rainy day option. Only slight downside was that it was a bit of a walk up to the main street in Fox but it was just a couple of minutes in the car. We thought it was great value and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base to see the glaciers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent only the one night here, great motel clean spacious and the best view in Fox Glacier, closest motel to Lake Matheson. Very helpful hosts on advise of things to see and where to get car repaired, Thanks Steph & Gav. Will be back

Room Tip: For Dinner definately try the "Cooks Saddle Restaurant"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibeare001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Property: Mount Cook View Motel
Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing