We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain and Lake, enjoy the views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mountain and Lake, enjoy the views”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We decided to stay in Fox Glacier because we want to visit Lake Matheson first thing in the morning. Mount Cook View Motel gives us the best place to start. It's located on a quiet Cook flat road.
When we arrived, the owner was at a town meeting but he left us a note on office door that our room is ready and the key is inside. So that was easy checking in, the owner arrived a little after we got settled in.
The room is very specious, even the bathroom is huge. We stayed in a motel unit (NZ$150) the price is a little higher than other motels in this area. But we get free internet and full kitchen. We bought our supplies from Hokitika then made dinner in the room. The kitchen has stove, microwave, coffee press, hot pot, fridge, utensils basically everything you need.
There are queen bed and a single bed. The queen bed has an electric warm mat and there's a small heater that we put in the bathroom because it was cold in there. Shower is big with stainless steel cover.
Overall Mount Cook View is a decent motel with very big room. However the price is a little bit high in our opinion.

Room Tip: There're rooms that face the mountain for a good view. If I remembered correctly it was room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tultleist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    91
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The manager of this establishment was very friendly and seemingly enjoyed his job, chatting to all the guests! We had a reasonably sized unit, but the cooking facilities were inadequate and the shopping choices in the area very limited, necessitating that we ate out - a great restaurant - the Matheson Cafe.

The room could do with a refurb and the spa bath was not particularly clean - whilst the area is worth a couple of days to explore, this property is okay for one night only. However, the motel is well located - away from the hustle of Fox Glacier township, and indeed if the weather is kind a very nice view of Mts Cook & Tasman. Lake Matheson is just a couple of miles away and the viewing spot for Fox Glacier is about a 10 minute drive in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

we stayed here for one night based on tripadvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. In fact we loved the area so much that we stayed an extra night. The room had all we needed. The rate was reasonable. We spent a lot of time at Lake Matheson - this is a stunning place. We saw it at sunset, sunrise and again at sunset! The cafe near the lake had wonderful coffee and breakfast. Pity it was closed for dinners!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which has a uninterrupted view of the Glacier. There are only 2 of these units, and i would recommend that this be your first choice. The other units face the road, and no mountain view.

The unit is very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette is functional, but it will pay to get supplies from Franz Josef as the store in Fox has very limited selection.

The bathroom is big, but the shower is a little disappointing in the water pressure. This is my only issue with our stay

Yes i would stay again, and will one day.

Enjoy your stay and the view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Steph, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. We arrived pretty late and she immediately provided us the information of where to have our dinner. Also, we found our room's heater had already switched on before we check-in, so that we could have a warmer room during winter.

The room was clean, spacious and great value. Nice view from the room and located in between on lake Matheson and town. i would highly recommend Mount Cook View Motel in term of comfortability and value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We arrived at the end of a day driving from Punakaiki. It had poured all afternoon, so we had seen none of the aclaimed sourthern alps. The overhang protecting us we unloaded our car was appreciated. At check-in we were told to rest up because great weather was on it's-at least by morning. Our room was roomy, pleasant, a little dated but great value. After exploring a bit in the rain we cooked an early dinner. We loved the quiet rural setting. The tiny town of Fox Glacier has good little general store for dinner fixings.

As we ate in our room the weather started to clear, we could see fields and mountains out our window! We headed out for a perfect hike to Fox Glacier (late afternoon sun reflecting on the glacier!). As we drove back, Mount Cook and Mount Tasman loomed in glowing pink, hovering over out Motel. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The following morning we drove 5 min down the road and hiked around Lake Matheson as the sun rose over the mountains.

A gem of a motel if you are planning to hike Lake Matheson and /or Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsoront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I did a lot of research before deciding to book here and was so pleased I did. There’s not much to Fox town centre and so booking a good motel with self catering facilities was a relief but it was a kilometre or so from the centre which means you could walk in if you wanted to.

The rooms are huge, it was spotlessly clean and the beds were so comfy; there was even a spa bath! Gavin the owner was very welcoming and recommended things for us to do and we were blessed with improving weather which resulted in Mount Cook popping out behind the clouds – though you do have to stand on the front lawn to see it. Parking is right outside your motel door, so very handy for unloading luggage. The only tiny negative was the peeling wallpaper in a few places but that didn’t affect our stay!

It’s the closest motel to the walk leading to Lake Matheson and this is definitely worth the effort and the lake is beautiful and when Mount Cook appears it’s as good as all the postcards you see of it.

So pleased we stayed here

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
11.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
19.9 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Property: Mount Cook View Motel
Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing