We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After staying in a quality hotel in Queenstown, we were extremely disappointed when we arrived at Heartland Hotel in Fox Glacier. You walk in and it smells like a nursing home and the room was pokey. We didn't sleep well at night as you can hear EVERYTHING including people at 4am talking on the shared balcony. You are then awoken at 7am by a hideous jazz bass line that vibrates through from reception. We even stripped the bed back to make sure there were no spiders in It. The bathroom was ok, shower head really low and not adjustable. No one comes to restock your toilet paper. We went to have a meal at the adjoining hotel and they didn't have a chef on..... We had to stay for 4 nights, we wanted to cancel and go back to Queenstown but couldn't.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    59
    30
    29
See reviews for
39
85
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and 1 are from from Brisbane, Australia and we were on a 12 day Independent Coach Tour touring both the North and South Islands. We arrived at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier from Queenstown and we loved the old fashioned white painted timber look of the place. Inside, the hotel has a lovely old fashioned retro feel about it with all the facilities needed for a great stay. A feature was the door leading to the long front verandah where we enjoyed a glass of wine together at the table and chairs there. The shower in the bathroom was nice and hot – perfect after viewing the Glacier in the rain. Our evening meal was quite lovely – I enjoyed an especially well cooked venison casserole with mashed potatoes and steam vegetables on the side. It was a shame we only had one night here as we could easily have enjoyed a couple more. Maybe another time. A nice gesture was the hotel management inviting us to take home the New Zealand made bath and body products on offer in the bathroom and providing a commemorative eco bag to take them home in . So what advice can we offer to travellers? Don't be put off by the old fashioned look of the hotel from the outside. There is a lot to like about this excellent hotel inside with its friendly staff and more than adequate facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrderintheHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when visiting Fox Glacier. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room itself was great. Plenty of space, big bathroom and it was warm when I walked in (despite being cold and wet outside). Had breakfast there both days and on the second got a free upgrade from the continental to the full cooked breakfast which was nice. Only worked out about 50% more expensive than staying at a youth hostel and was easily two or three times better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t123s456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night soon after the tiring trip to Fox Glacier. Was a little disappointed since the room was too small. We were a couple with a 10 year old child and we found the room very small although the bathroom was very big. It's ok to spend one night at this place. We did not get the room with the breakfast, since we left the next day early in the morning, and we just bought sometimes and sandwiches from the petrol pump nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Fox Glacier. The reception staff (all 4 we met) where welcoming and helpful - especially helping us with concerns over the intercity and road closures. The rooms was a good size and very comfortable. Recommended for anyone looking to stay at Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed a night here, a warm comfortable room. Helpful staff and a good breakfast in the morning
Has the pub downstairs with a nice open fire and a relaxed environment.
An older building but looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Fast check in. Disappointed with the room. Shower head with very low water pressure. Heater didn't work at all. Paid 5 dollars for 24 hrs wifi which were very strong. If you are staying for a night, then its ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMINI1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing