We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Fox!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great stay in Fox!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Fox Glacier. The reception staff (all 4 we met) where welcoming and helpful - especially helping us with concerns over the intercity and road closures. The rooms was a good size and very comfortable. Recommended for anyone looking to stay at Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    61
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
87
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed a night here, a warm comfortable room. Helpful staff and a good breakfast in the morning
Has the pub downstairs with a nice open fire and a relaxed environment.
An older building but looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Fast check in. Disappointed with the room. Shower head with very low water pressure. Heater didn't work at all. Paid 5 dollars for 24 hrs wifi which were very strong. If you are staying for a night, then its ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMINI1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
204 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We wrote to staff following our visit and have heard nothing in response.

This is the only place to eat on Christmas Day in Fox Glacier and we would encourage you to either stay somewhere else and drive in the following morning or buy supplies and make your own meal. Anything would be better than paying a large sum of money for school canteen quality food.

We were highly disappointed and put off by the meal that was served on the 25th of Dec. The menu sounded good but the reality was the worst meal we have had during our time in New Zealand and our worst christmas meal to date. For $140, we expect decent quality food. What we received was dry and terribly cooked turkey, lamb and chicken. The vegetables were largely soggy, watery and tasteless. The corn was watery and just plain horrid. The cooked potatoes were spongy and brown all the way through. They should have been roasted with some crispness on the outside, savoury taste and fluffiness or soft insides. The cold salads, garden salad and coleslaw being the exceptions, were also awful. The various piles of cream that were supposed to be dessert was inedible. The only decent piece of food was the ham.

We were in and out of the dining room in 30mins and went to bed hungry. We told our waiter about how awful the meal was at the time but he did not care. We went back to our hotel and told them never to send any of their guests to Heartland hotel for Christmas dinner. People should stock up at the supermarket, eat before arriving in fox glacier or plan to arrive the following morning.

Hopefully someone else's Christmas can be spared. Ours was ruined.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

bombay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Located in the serene Te Wahipounamu area the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier is a boutique property. It was booked as a layover in course of our NZ trip. The place was a nice one to stay for a short period and kudos to our travel portal of Newzealandtourister.com for arranging a stay. They also liaised with the resort officials and managed to arrange for a budget package for us.

Being a foodie I would like bring out the plus points in the food gourmet initially. The dining room only opened at 7am for the breakfast and it stayed open for a considerable duration of time. Breakfast was in built in the room rate and fare contained an elaborate menu of bacon, sausages, hash brownies, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, baked beans and an assortment of breads/toast, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee, frappes, milk shakes and fruit juice served in a buffet style.

The venison and veal ribs to start the main course were quite heavy and enormous. The side dish of fish and chips was really tasty as it was freshly battered and was quite white and boneless. Service was the only minor blip as it was a bit slow.

Based on our stay our guess was that rooms facing the front tower had a reasonable view. The central apartment was getting a touch old and our wing needed some styling. The place is a country hotel after all and located in a small town it provided the best to its abilities. As we were staying overnight on a layover trip we were not looking for a huge extravagant place and thus it suited our purpose well.
As with the other hotels in and around the area of South Island the lack of free wi-fi was there in
the Fox Glacier as well and is a minor blip.

Room Tip: cheapest one ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohit668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As I didnt stay here I wouldn't normally put in a review however we ate here on our one night in Fox Glacier. Wow I can honestly say that my cheese burger (which was in no way what I was expecting) from the bar menu, was by far the best burger Ive ever eaten, anywhere. Good value for money and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in Fox Glacier country. It was also nice that we could order and eat the bar menu in the restaurant as well and the service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in March 2013 in a twin room.

Summary
An older hotel in a small town surrounded by Glaciers and Mountains. The hotel is a little old fashioned but is clean and comfortable.

This review is based on my stay in room 100 which is on the ground floor.

The rooms amenities include: 2x single beds with duvet & bedspread, TV, fridge, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities with kettle, alarm clock, heater, air con, safe, table & chairs, wifi access ($5 per hour)

Hotel amenities include:- Restaurant, bar, cafe, laundry facilities ($3 washing machine, $2 dryer, $2 for detergent), wetroom, internet kiosk.

Located on the main road in the Fox Glacier Village near to all the local amenities (general store, souvenier shop, bars, cafe's, restaurants, fuel stop).

My room (100) was a bit old fashioned, but was clean and comfortable and overlooked a garden area. Car parking was available nearby.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is the standard fare, bacon, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, selection of breads/toast, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee and fruit juice served in a buffet style.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing