We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here as part of the tour with Kirra. Friendly and welcoming staff. Room decor was clean but a little old (however had flat screen tv on wall). Room was very small with double bed in. Nice enough for a one night stay. Dinner was good - had three courses again which included salmon, chicken for main course and what they called a 'custard slice' - this came out and looked like a custard square but tasted like cheesecake. Breakfast wasn't very good - the scrambled eggs were awful tasting (like powdered egg).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely friendly welcome on arrival

No lift, but only 1 flight of stairs from room.

Room of good standard, nice and clean, good size

Best wifi rates I've found so far for 24hr which is brilliant

Location great for exploring

A+++ would certainly recommend, breakfast very good as well

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristol-Uk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a few drinks and a meal at the hotel. The atmosphere was very good with an open log fireplace and plenty of room. Be aware that in the on season it can become very crowded as we have experienced in the past. We went into the dining area for dinner although we were invited to dine in front of the fireplace if we wished. The meal was, as on previous occasions, one of the best that we have had in NZ and this what prompted us to go again. The staff were friendly and we had a great evening. The hotel is also well situated in the township.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were booked through the tour operator and had no choice in hotel (hostel) we had.
The annex part of the hotel where we were put up seemed more like a hostel than a hotel room.
There was no soundproofing between the room walls. The rooms in the annex were on either side of a corridor and could hear doors opening and closing as the locks were key operated (mortice locks)
Our room decor was very basic with the bathroom/shower area very dated and needed an uplift. The WC pan dirty and the sink with old type hot and cold taps.
The room on the side of the annex we were in looked on to a fenced car/coach park area. As we arrived late afternoon and were leaving very early in the morning it did not matter, otherwise we would have to keep the curtains shut.
The hotel is a fair walk to the glacier but we found a man who was driving tourist to the glacier car park and back at a cost of $10 per passenger, which we thought was a lot, considering you travelled with other 5 passengers.
There were a couple of eateries and hotels, which we did not get to see due to the time.
The dinner and the breakfast were OK and we cannot say much about the staff as we hardly had any contact with them.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, as I am sure it would be much better than the one we had in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of our bus tour through the south island. We were met at reception by a rather surly man. Our room was comforable enough though the bed was on the "spongy" side. The room facilities though clean were rather basic and the decor was very dull and uninteresting. The bathroom was huge. Though plain, the facilities, bath, basin and shower were clean and functional. The water temperature and pressure were very good for an old building. One of the nicest features were the opening windows.The dining room and breakfast rooms were large and had lovely windows. The food, though tasty, was very expensive - $22.50 for fish and chips (pretty much the same throughout NZ) but the portion was absolutley HUGE. Had we known, we would have only ordered one meal as there was more than enough food for the two of us. The waitress in the dining room was very polite and the provided excellent service. Breakfast was good with a variety of options. The young man on duty appeared quite sullen. Perhaps he was related to the man @ reception the day before. Thankfully, the young lady on duty in the morning was more friendly and appeared to enjoy her work. There was a charge for the use of ithe internet, $5 for half and hour of which we probably used 10 minutes. As accommodation providers, ourselves ( Practically Lakeside B&B in Canberra, Australia) we can not see the need to charge guests for internet use. Most guests just want to check thier emails and be assured that all is well at home. There was only one place we stayed in NZ that provided complimentary internet as we do at home.

This hotel has great potential and with minimal cost - good selection of colour and fabrics could be turned into a charming hotel with character and style. Good front of house staff are required as well.

Overall, the hotel covered the basics: it was warm and served a good breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road get the very strong light shining in all night so it's impossible to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fureliseAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd stop on our 2 week south island trip.This old hotel is just unreal,it's old and great.We had an older room which was fine,but our friends were in a room that had been renovated-very. nice.The best part of this place is the bar,the fire place was roaring and it was just so homely.The food that night was a big hearty meal and yummy.Breakfast was also very good.Coming from a hot climate to Fox Glacier was breathtaking.In the morning at the back of the hotel snow had fallen over night and the hill was covered in snow-I was in heaven.I read the reviews and we are happy we made the Heartland Hotel our home for the night.
Marg,Gaz,Des and Barb



  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I would rate this as 1-2 star. There are various buildings on the site, and perhaps they are in stages of renovation, I don't know. We were given a room in the mid 120s, in an old building. The bathroom was terrible, the walls were thin and with a tour group arriving at midnight and shouting amongst one another, we did not sleep until 3 am. I wish we had paid a little more (we paid USD 135) and stayed elsewhere. On the plus side, there are laundry facilities (although they charge $2 for a small sachet of detergent!) and there are some eating places just across the road. The gorgeous Lake Matheson is only 6 kms away.

Bottom line: look for another place. I am sure you can do better.

Room Tip: Avoid the 120-130 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $120 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing