We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant EVER!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but were forced to eat at the restaurant since it was the only one open on a rainy Sunday winter night. I just want to warn people NOT to eat here under any circumstances. After waiting an hour and a half for our dinner to arrive(the restaurant only had 5 tables taken), the waiter brought the most disgusting excuse for food you can imagine. To top it off, my son ordered a burger with just lettuce and ketchup and the waiter brought him a bun with just lettuce and ketchup (no meat) insisting that it was a "burger". He then, tried to charge us $18 for this so called "burger". What a disappointment to be in such a beautiful place at the edge of the world and have such a bad experience. The night before, we had a fabulous casual meal at Cook Saddle. You should go there instead!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    61
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
87
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I had to stay a night at this hotel due to bad weather, the room was 3 star & it met with that standard of rating, the staff were very friendly & nothing was a problem at all, the food was very good & a fun bar which also had local west coasters drinking in it which made for a very friendly atmosphere, all in all for the money it was well worth it, clean , friendly & value for money, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie-Loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

There can't be much to say about a small hotel in the middle of almost nowhere..
This hotel is in the town of Fox Glacier, and about 10min drive from Lake Matheson.

We viewed several rooms, and given the fact this hotel was built in 1860 and originally served as worker's lodgings ... no two rooms are alike. The rooms were reasonably well kept, and comfortable . No complaints ... just not much of a view either.

The shining star of the occasion is the service. I commend Lee Rigby , who was the duty manager that day, whose service was clearly the best of all the places I stayed in NZ. He personelly saw to our luggage , requests for extra heaters etc.

The food in the restaurant was not bad ... and we also had drinks (reasonably priced) at the bar, which is frequented by many locals. There was also a nice fire going.

If you, like me, only have one night to spend here ... I would be happy to recommend this place.

Room Tip: View a few?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. We had to chase around to find someone to check us in (one of the bar staff helped out). Our room was fine - clean, spacious bathroom with a good shower, a balcony which was shared with others so you did feel overlooked. The breakfast was good on the first day, but on the second we hit the dining room just after a Tour Group had been through, so it was like locusts had visited! Overall it was OK, the service wasn't exactly poor, but it wasn't good either - just non-existent! Reviewer be warned that this is a hotel that groups use, so the hotel can get swamped.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexgirliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Thank goodness we only stayed here for one night as our room was small and dark on the ground floor with no privacy from people walking past the window.
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the shower as it was just a curtain around a wet floor, but to be fair, there was plenty of hot water.
Dinner was OK, but breakfast was chaos. There was another group eating at the same time and having "seconds" before we had a chance to get anything hot. I do think the hotel could have arranged for there to have been a 1/2 gap between the two groups eating, although the breakfast was not much to write home about.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My stay at Fox Glacier Hotel was comfortable, but not outstanding. The rooms seemed somewhat gloomy, and the toilets lacked a shower tub, with only a curtain partitioning off the shower, making the whole floor all wet. The buffet food lacked variety. It's OK if your staying one night, moving on to another place the next day, but don't expect a top-class experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japanwafuwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The reception is tucked away at one side of the hotel and there's no conspicuous signage from the main road.

Rooms are a little small but clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing