We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great ....”

Glacier Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.61*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
$225.79*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
$222.20*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was our honeymoon and we started our/my first Helicopter Flight- It was really great!
Thank's a lot!

1  Thank Yolande_Reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Congratulations on your recent marriage, we are so glad you enjoyed your flight.
Enjoy the rest of your time in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand.
From the team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 381 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you can afford it do it. Nothing beats flying over a glacier area and getting out of a helicopter to see the beauty of the peaks close up. We planned to do the whole circuit but Franz Josef was shrouded in cloud so we flew up to Mt Cook area and over Fox Glacier. It is particularly good if you cannot do one of the glacier hikes. Booking was easy, the staff efficient and our pilot very professional and helpful. He ensured everyone had a chance to get good views by changing the seating arrangements when we re boarded our helicopter on the glacier snowfield.

3  Thank SAFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi There
Thank you for a great review. We aim to consistently offer the best service possible and it’s always nice to be told we’re doing a good job.
We hope your enjoyed the rest of your time exploring around New Zealand.
From the team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting with relatives who had walked up to the glacier and as we were short of time decided to see the glacier by helicopter. Seriously this is the only way to do it and we got the flight for $390 NZ which was good value. We went to franz Josef Glacier first and then landed on Fox Glacier. Very interesting information from the pilot and our relatives were very jealous when they saw the photos! Thoroughly recommend.

2  Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi There

Thank you for the fantastic feedback great to hear enjoyed your flight so much, and we agree that flying is the only real way to see these glaciers!

From the team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

nothing compares to standing on top of a glacier throwing a snow ball either at your friends or in our case at our pilot. we were meant to do Franz and Fox Glaciers by helicopter but given the weather conditions franz Joseph was covered in cloud we ended up doing fox glaicer and seeing mount cook up close and personal! There were only six of us in the helicopter plus the pilot who was happy to take photos for us, they also took a photo you could buy rather reasonable cost as well $20 which included details abou the glaciers and a certificate of were you stood.
Highly worth the money!

3  Thank ldodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

“Glad to hear to had a fantastic time on the Glacier”
From the team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an amazing flight along the glacier and landed on the snow field at the top. The pilot pointed out the special interest sights on the way up and gave a running commentry during the whole flight. Unforgetable!!

3  Thank Mary2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are very glad to hear that you had an amazing flight and we consider ourselves fortunate to have pilots with such a vast knowledge of our local area.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
From the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing