We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Glacier Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.58*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter...
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an amazing flight along the glacier and landed on the snow field at the top. The pilot pointed out the special interest sights on the way up and gave a running commentry during the whole flight. Unforgetable!!

3  Thank Mary2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are very glad to hear that you had an amazing flight and we consider ourselves fortunate to have pilots with such a vast knowledge of our local area.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
From the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"snow landing"
in 50 reviews
"mount cook"
in 47 reviews
"franz josef"
in 51 reviews
"helicopter flight"
in 25 reviews
"new zealand"
in 27 reviews
"ground staff"
in 7 reviews
"bucket list"
in 16 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 19 reviews
"walk around"
in 7 reviews
"weather was perfect"
in 10 reviews
"minute trip"
in 6 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 12 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 16 reviews
"special experience"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 7 reviews
"blue sky"
in 8 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 9 reviews
Filter

345 - 349 of 441 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were so lucky the weather was perfect for a Helicopter ride and the snow was just wonderful, we were the first to arrive on the day and this was amazing. To see the Glacier itself was incredible.

3  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Janice, sounds like you had a great time on the coast and we are glad you enjoyed the glacier!
From the Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We'd booked with the same company in Glentanner but it was cancelled at the last minute due to high winds around the peaks. I was gutted as we were actually stood there waiting for the chopper to land when the pilot reported it was getting to blowy. I have started to learn to fly in the UK so I did understand the pilots worries and trusted his judgement. We got a refund there and then and said that we could do it on the other side a few days later in Fox glacier. (Be careful on the refund and paying in local currency as it actually cost me $60 dollars in exchange rates when I checked my statement). SO... We got to Fox Glacier and went to the office and got on a flight that day with another young couple. What an experience ! The helicopter was a modern and powerful squirrel I believe, the pilot was knowlegeable and experienced. We landed very high up and had a good look around and had plenty of time to take some great shots. The pilot asked if we wanted to have some fun on the way back down and take some tight steep turns to which we all readilly agreed. I'm not sure this is the norm but as we were all eager he obliged and I got some fantastic video footage from the front seat. All in all I would highly recommend this trip, its expensive but well worth it for the views.

2  Thank andyjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for the great review.
We endeavor to make each flight a memorable experience.
All the best from the Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Did this fantastic flight in November but did write up at time for wrong company at Fox Glacier which has now been removed by Trip Advisor : Hence this delayed write up for Glacier Helicopters.

Early morning take off from Franz Joseph and treated like a VIP. Pilot very informative on way up the valley to the glacier.
Excellent photos from the helicopter.
Highlight was landing on the glacier. Again lots of photo oppertunities. Pilot took photos of each of us by the helicopter on the glacier.

A Trip not to be missed !!!!! I would do it again.

3  Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi there
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and we are glad your experience with Glacier Helicopter was all you imagined and more.
Always glad to hear when clients have had a fantastic trip with us and your always welcome to comeback and fly with us again.
From the Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Trip with Glacier Helicopters was the best way to see the glaciers. They were very accommodating with last minute changes and adjusted our trip due to weather conditions. We even sighted a pair of chammies.

2  Thank kidsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review. It is a magical place and always great when you get to see some of the local wildlife.
From the Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing