We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip..Disappointing Service”

Glacier Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.70*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
$234.90*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
$231.17*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went into the office to get a quote on a helicopter flight the next day for our family of 2 Adults 4 Children. We were happy with the price and organised a helicopter flight for the next day at 10am. Excited we all arrived at the office at our designated time. When my husband went to pay, the receptionist wanted to charge us close to $300 more than our quoted price. Her excuse "I was very busy yesterday and made a mistake on the quote"......"theres nothing I can do about it". We were shattered. My husband said that it wasnt good enough and he would like to speak to the Manager. The lady said "we cant speak to the manager because its Saturday". However, the receptionist who also ended up being the bus driver from the helipad was cold, rude and unfriendly for the entire uncomfortable trip. This receptionist/bus driver is NOT an asset to Glacier Helicopters. We did end up going on the helicopter flight which was breathtakingly amazing. I would definately do this flight again but with another company.

5  Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi There
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our apologies for the customer service issues you experienced, we were disappointed to hear about our usually professional and helpful team members.
I hope the scenery was enjoyable & you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
If you have any further queries please email us at helibasemgr@glacierhelicopters.co.nz
From The Heli Base Manager at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 326 of 401 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Literally, hovering on top of fissures and crevasses as large as rivers and as deep as the Grand Canyon that open under your feet while you are safey sitting in the climatised heli next to a Hollywood star-like pilot. The colours of the ice are equally striking - all shades of blue and green. Once you're on the top at 2,600 metres a.s.l. the shimmering whiteness of the floor contrasts with the most electric blue of the sky and the deafening silence fills your de-compressed eardrums. When you descend again, the palette changes to an infinite range of greens, till you touch down, but your spirit will go on hovering and will take sometime before joining you back at sea level.

4  Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your well written review.
Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.
The Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took the basic 20-minute trip which goes up over the Franz Joseph Glacier and puts down for a few minutes on top so you can take some pictures and throw a few snowballs. 20 minutes doesn't sound like a lot but actually it feels longer and for us it was plenty.

Views are predictably spectacular, and the whole thing feels very safe - the pilots are quietly competent and friendly.

The only thing I would say is that you are very much at the mercy of the weather. The glacier is frequently cloud-covered, which means the copters are grounded: for safety reasons they will only fly when it is clear (and of course you wouldn't see much in cloud anyway). So, allow yourself flexibility as to when you will actually go to maximise your chances. We were supposed to go on the afternoon of our first day in FJ but actually went the next morning when it was clear but shortly after we landed the clouds were back and the flights cancelled again. They seem to have enough capacity to cope with this - it's not like you can't easily rebook if your original time is cancelled.

2  Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi There
Glad you enjoyed your flight. Yes we are very much at the mercy of the weather in the Glacier Region, but it’s definitely worth the wait.
Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand
All the best from the Team at Glacier Helicopters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

So great the weather was perfect the guide was awesome The snow was perfect and the girls at the front counter were very helpful

2  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hi and Thank You for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed our Helihike trip. The Victoria Flat is a very pristine part of the Glacier. Happy Travels !!! From The Glacier Helicopter Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was the most amazing helicopter ride. We flew from Franz Josef and up over the glacier with spectacular scenery and good weather. It doesn't get much better flying to the top of a mountain, landing and playing in the snow. I'm a very nervous flyer but I managed to do this and I am so glad I did. Craig, our pilot was informative. Thanks so much to this excellent company with friendly staff. We have some wonderful photos and memories. We would highly recommend your company to others.

2  Thank karleigh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for a great review.
We appreciate all feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the scenery and the flight itself.
Well done for being brave and going ahead on the flight.
All the best from the Team at Glacier Helicopter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing