We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting Colin & Trish is a delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ropatini's Homestay B & B
Ranked #4 of 8 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a garden studio room for I night including dinner & breakfast. I thought the accommodation was delightful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom huge with a lovely wet room shower. The views from the window at the front magnificent. They also have a pet lamb who is very vocal & entertaining. Both Colin & Trish couldn't have been more helpful. Organising our helicopter flight into the mountains. We had a gorgeous meal with them. We even played a dice game he plays with his family! Breakfast was delicious too. I loved our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. I have very fond memories of our visit!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Unfortunately we came to this B&B after staying at some really comfortable and stunning B&Bs previously, which meant that our expectations were high and we were slightly underwhelmed with this place. The cabins are quite out of date and although there is a TV it was tiny, and the wifi signal was terrible. The shower was very good though, and it is nice to have your own cabin so you can come and go as you please. The breakfast was fine, not as good as some places, but plenty of food in the continental style. The hosts were very friendly and pleasant, and the views from the dining room to Mount Cook are wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The separate cabins were perfect for our stay. They were clean, had tea/coffee making facilities and a good sized en suite shower room. Trish and Colin are very entertaining hosts. Colin has some very unusual woodwork which are real works of art. Trish was very helpful in chatting to us and advising us on flights up to the Glacier. We spent a lovely evening with them having dinner and quite a laugh. The food was well cooked and very tastey. Wifi was a bit patchy, but wifi throughout New Zealand proved to be very patchy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, Trish was a great host and Collin is a real character the separate cabin style rooms are clean, modern and functional, and the breakfasts were very good, we had a sunday evening dinner with our hosts and it was excellent really good to get some home cooked food after three weeks of travel. Collin's passion for timber and his handy work are worth seeing. It is a great base to visit the local Glacier country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Trish is a lovely lady, I emailed before we set of on this long trip to organise doing some washing when we arrived, which was a massive help to us, on arriving after showing us or room and asking a very welcome cup of tea showed me the washer, I was able to get it all done and when we arrived back after going out for dinner it was all dry for me. Trish told s where was god to go and see the best view of mt cook that night as the cloud would lift that evening, also where was good to eat. The following night we had per arranged a home cooked meal with our host Trish and Collin which was very enjoyable after 2 weeks of eating out. We had one of the outside room which we loved plenty of space to put all our bags etc. Excellent host, they is even per evening drink and snacks.

Room Tip: They is 2 rooms outside where you can sit out side and look at Mt. Cook best view ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights based on all the reviews here. We must say that the reviews here overrate this place. It's functional but that's about it. The rooms are okay. Wifi doesn't work in the external rooms.

The breakfast is most average - toast, yoghurt and fruit. At a B&B, you expect a bit more effort.

New Zealand has some amazing B&Bs and this one is comparatively disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

There is very limited choice of accommodation, around the glacier areas on New Zealands southern, west coast and at peak times, it naturally gets more difficult to find suitable accommodation. The best you can hope for is somewhere comfortable and warm, which we found at this little husband and wife run bed and breakfast property in the township of Fox Glacier. The couple were very friendly, gracious hosts, who went out of their way to welcome us into their home and make our stay comfortable. I did find our hosts constant presence, a little to overwhelming for my liking personally (as I prefer more privacy), but this was not a flaw in service by any means... just something that brought me out of my normal comfort zones. The couple shared coffee with us in the evening after we dined out in town, and joined us for breakfast. They were very informative with the history of the area and geographic information and travel tips. Rooms are very average, but comfortable and private. You share bathroom with other guests and on our stay there was one other couple, so this was not an issue at all. Overall a very friendly comfortable little property and if you love lots of attention and conversation with your hosts, you'll get it here. A lovely, warm, helpful couple!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,414 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 11 in Fox Glacier
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 11 in Fox Glacier
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ropatini's Homestay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ropatini's Homestay B & B

Address: 81 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $162 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ropatinis Homestay B&B is a superior quality, friendly Bed & Breakfast accommodation, set amongst a beautiful large garden in Fox Glacier, West Coast, New Zealand. We can provide garden studios (with ensuite) or rooms in the main house (with ensuite or share facilities). A generous continental breakfast is provided every morning, scrumptious home baking and we can also provide a delicious dinner on request. We are always happy to provide our guests with information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ropatini's Homestay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing