We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy pricing”

Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Salmon Farm and Licensed Cafe, located in remote southern South Westland.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crazy pricing”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were really disappointed with this place. The food is ridiculously expensive and not very good. Such a shame because there are very few other options between Haast and Fox Glacier. As New Zealanders we were disappointed that this is the standard of food being offered and prices charged to so many overseas visitors. Lift your game.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saraidblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    49
    39
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped here for a hot chocolate and to use the loo. Ended up eating salmon sandwiches - all fresh! If you like salmon, this is the place for you. The hot choc was good too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Priss58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Owner at Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“VERY EXPENCIVE SANDWICH STOP”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Meals were to big. Eggs were well overcooked. The salmon was good. Coffee was good but for 85 for four of us it was hard to swallow. So overall an EXPENCIVE lunch stop!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drivebynewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“total rip off!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm rating two stars only, entirely based on the prices. We ordered the salmon platter which was $33, and before ordering I asked the person at the counter how many grams of salmon was on the platter, however she couldn't answer this question, then we asked if that's enough for two people to share and she ensured us that it was enough. As I have tried many platters in different restaurant before, I expected to see the platter, unfortunately it was starter size portion, literally 50 gr of smoked salmon, 7 pieces of extremely thin salmon, it came with side of salad and some crackers. It was a joke for the price of $33!!! common, its just a total rip off!!! the salmon itself was incredibly fresh (also we bought some smoked salmon to take away and it was really good) and tasty however the price is beyond ridiculous! Even eating in the most expensive restaurant, you wouldn't pay that much and this place was only a cafe! Service was very pleasant. However our experience was completely ruined. Owners of this place, need to re-phrase the word -platter! as this is misleading information for the customers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lazanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Owner at Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not receive the service expected and have taken steps to remedy the mistake that was made with you order. We apologise to you, and fully understand why you were dissatisfied. We have also taken on board your comments about the term "platter" being misleading and will change the menu item. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yummy salmon”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

simple place, lovely terrace to sit in good weather, fresh tasty pie and salmon. Fun to see lots of salmon swimming in the pools. Easy to find with the big CAFE sign on the roof

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Owner at Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe also viewed

Mahitahi, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing