We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not advisable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Not a pleasant stay. Felt more like a prison than a hostel or motor lodge. Thin Walls - not great trying to get some sleep after a tiring days driving only to hear next door having sex. The walk to the toilet was a mission throughout the night. You'd expect showers to be included in the price not have to pay 50c for 7minutes hot water. The place had no character, unfriendly and the kitchen was filthy! It felt unsafe.

I couldn't wait to leave and wished I driven the extra few hours to queenstown even in the pouring rain!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebestofem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had driven all day and stayed mostly at DOC campsites so treated ourselves to a campsite with facilities for the evening. However our welcome was less than friendly, being told about all the extra costs on top of our already expensive pitch with power ($32). Had to pay extra for showers, and internet was $2 for 20mins.

When our friend asked for some change at 9.55am so she could email her family to let them know she was ok after the earthquake the previous evening, she was told she did not have time as we had to be off site at 10am! Bit rude after an earthquake!!!

Kitchen and tv room facilities are good and there is a nice wood burning fire in the communal room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candnadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haastlodge, Owner at Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Hi, we tell people about our charges PRIOR to check in so that there isnt any confusion. This gives them the info they need to decide to stay or not. I cant see a change to telling customers about charges AFTER checking being constructive!

The internet we cant do much about as it is a satellite link in a remote area and is run by a contractor.

Regarding the general charge we cant offer less than $32 as our costs in a remote area are far greater than normal. We may have to look at building motel units on the tent sites if the economics dont stack up for both parties. We are not getting rich on $32 regardless. $34 now actually.

Check out time is 10am. We give significant discretion here. But is it appropriate to ask for an hours internet at 9.55am when you havent even started to take your tent down? I have to be fair to all guests. Not just those who seek to be treated differently to everyone else. This guest would have still be around at about 11.20. Not fair on the rest who left at 10-10.30. Mention of the quake isin poor taste and inappropriate as she could have done her email earlier while she was still a guest or used public phones or the internet cafe nearby after she checked out

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

After a beautiful drive from Lake Hawea to Haast, we arrive at the office of this only caravan park (place where you are aloud to pitch tent) in Haast.
The owner walks in from behind us, asking what he could help us with.. We politely say we want to have an unpowered tent site for the night.
Very elementary he goes through his list of things to say.. It`s 32 dollars for an unpowered tent site, there is a kitchen, toilet, and if you want a shower, they work on 50 cent pieces...

(So, what are you actually paying for with the 32 NZD??? A piece of grass/dirt.. some water to flush the toilet maybe.. a bit of electricity if you use their kitchen? Sounds already like a BIG rip off... but the worse part is that the shower isn`t even included in that price! )

Stunned by this `MONEY-SUCK` we agree we have no other options, since we hitch-hike, and don`t have a car to escape quickly from this terrible park.. It`s already late in the day, and we can`t walk far with all our stuff.. so we decide to do it, and pay the price...... Afwul feeling though, supporting such criminalities!
The guy starts asking for our name (to put in his computer), our car registration number (which we don`t have) We say T H U M B .. but he wasn`t in for any jokes..
Then he wants to see our passport. We are very surprised to hear this, and ask why he needs our passport.. (are we still just paying for a campsite here, or is there something else going on?)
He answers: "In case something gets stolen, or in case you get KILLED"
Now we are even more surprised, and ready to get OUT of THERE! (why would we possibly need to accept such assumptions.. does he means that we would steal something.. and who is going to kill us?? )

He doesn`t like our reaction on this (which reflects the stupidity of the whole situation, created by him... we are not the kind of people who don`t think twice about prices to pay.. things assumed.. when we feel ripped off, we`ll say so!)
and he says: " I`m not happy with this... you have to leave.."

We gladly leave, and i`m glad this site exists, so we can share our story!
Please, don`t support such rip-off prices, unfriendly-ness..

If you go to Haast and want to go camping, i think it is a much safer option to illegally disappear in the riverbed, instead of staying in this place... where you could get killed!?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lis_butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haastlodge, Owner at Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

This couple were found trespassing within the property grounds without permission despite reception being open mid afternoon and obvious signage

They supplied their surname as "Smith" at check in and did so in a most hesistant fashion. When 'Mr Smith' gave his name I asked for ID as he had no car rego to offer. Despite the lady physically holding her passport they refused to show it, as they were obviously busted supplying a false name.

At this point they were refused accommodation. It is a REQUIREMENT in law that we know who we are accommodating. We had no choice but to deny this couple a site after they lied to us and refused to give ID.

Our other 12000-15000 guests per annum dont seem to have a problem with identifying themselves

The complaint about our facilities is interesting as they never got to see them.

This couples behaviour nearly resulted in a police complaint. The 'Smiths' were aggressive abusive and last seen loitering outside the facility for over an hour before eventually hitching north.

In the interests of our other guests we are proud that we denied these people entry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carltoncivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank weltenbummler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lore-Elene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) hotels
66.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,412 reviews
56.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
417 reviews
66.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.6 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
56.3 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
68.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing