We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place when passing through...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place when passing through...”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge one night on our way from the Franz Josef glacier to Queenstown. There isn't much to the town...very small, but good for a nights stay. We knew we were going to be arriving late so we called ahead and they left the rooms ready for us. We appreciated that!
The rooms were nice. It was pretty chilly that night so we were glad the rooms had heaters. Be prepared to pay (I think it was 50 cents) if you want a hot shower. We didn't know this so we were glad some other travelers were able to help us since we didn't have any coins. Kitchen and eating areas are spacious.
One down side we noticed is that sound really traveled within the hallways. When we were in our room (near the kitchen) we could hear noise from the kitchen, the bathroom and the other rooms. Made it a little hard to go to bed when we heard kids down the hall.
Overall nice place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for one night early March on a powered site enroute to Fox Glacier. Small and basic and clean has all the facilities. Not a lot to do in Haast but a good stop off if travelling up from Queenstown or Wanaka. Good value for money would recommend for a night or two but know more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed only one night en route to West Coast, New Zealand. We just made it through the Haast Pass as the Pass was closing at 6:30. When I phoned to book, the owner said he'd hold the room till 7:15 knowing that we'd either be through by then or not. He had a long queue of people waiting to book in from the western end as they had mistimed the road closure! So we were lucky. It was a very clean, well-organized motel with everything we needed to cook supper, clean up and have a comfortable, quiet sleep.
My only regret is that we didn't book into the cheaper backpackers' rooms. The backpackers' area looked extremely comfortable, clean and well-organized and was about NZ$50 cheaper. The only difference, it seems, was that we would have had to share a bathroom but there were lots of them and they all looked clean. Next day, the owner gave me good instructions about where to visit in the area. Very good stop-over.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night at a powered site and were able to use all of the parks facilities. The communal bathrooms were very clean, showers were 50c for 7 minutes, but that's a small price to pay for a lovely hot shower. The kitchen/dining/lounge area was spotless, well lit and had plenty of extra pots/pans etc.. There was no playground but there was a community one in walking distance down the road. Price was great. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We originally booked a double in the hostel but upgraded at arrival to the motel. The hostel seemed perfectly fine but there are no ensuites and for not much more we stayed in a spacious room with TV and private bath.We stayed for 2 nights but more would have been better. Do not miss the drive to Jackson Bay and the many stops along the way. Stop for several beach walks, in a nature preserve estuary with a signed board walk and learn about white bait fishing.Eat at the shack restaurant at Jackson Bay for a fresh fish lunch. There is a small shopping area nearby in Haast with 3 shops and a very knowledgable and gracious owner and a 15 year old super friendly and young at heart dog. One of the shops has a small library of inexpensive new and used books and great NZ honey confections for sale. This is an area that should not be missed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty,New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didn't know what to expect but ended up staying two nights but three nights would have been better as there is alot to see. Nice walking tracks a bit further south and Jackson Bay was delightful.
Accommodation was first class. Our room was super clean and tidy and plenty of room to spread out. The showers were spotless and lots of very clean basins.
The communal lounge and kitchen was very spacious and it was so much fun meeting all the other people there. Many of them sat around in the lounge watching the rugby on Friday night and talking amongst themselves it was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We will be returning next year as we didn't have enough time to do a couple of the walking tracks. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ground rooms were near the communal kitchen and lounge which we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here in a motorhome, en route from the glaciers to Queenstown. The park is ideally located just off SH6, close to the last petrol station for miles. The highlight was the brilliantly stocked, large, clean and inviting campers kitchen/lounge area in a large barn-type building. Reception was open until 8pm which was handy as we arrived relatively late. Camping pitches vary - we had a nice grassy one at the back, but there were a large number of unattractive Tarmac parking bays.
Toilets and showers were clean and well designed. Unnecessary 50c charge for the showers, but hard to grumble too much about this as the camping fees were very reasonable, much cheaper than you would get at one of the Top10 parks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
1.6 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.1 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
66.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Property: Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing