We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place and great value for Malborough wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place and great value for Malborough wine country”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I were travelling with another couple and booked two rooms at the Olde Mill House for 2 nights, mainly because they provide free bikes to bike around the nearby wineries. We got so much more than we bargained for. Diane and Robert were unobtrusive but perfect hosts. The rooms were lovely with all modern conveniences, free wifi and lovely bathrooms. There is such a beatifuly outdoor patio surrounded by a stunning perennial garden, complete with grill and hot tub, that we planned on our second night to cook out. The weather didn't agree so they graciously opened their dining room to us for our meal. Breakfasts were lovely and lively affairs talking with other guests (there are a total of only 3 rooms) and Diane. The bikes were also great with saddle bags, baskets (if you want) and helmets (required by law in NZ). This is one of my top B&B experiences ever.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanstonMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
204
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We went to Marlborough for a fun girls weekend of wine tasting. After a drive up from Christchurch we were greeted by Robert (as Diane was away) with tea and home-made brownies- perfect start to the weekend! Breakfast the next day was an even more impressive example of their homemade foods- so many tasty preserves and jams! Bikes, helmets and an all essential map of the wineries were included free of charge. Had a wonderful day in the sunshine exploring the area. The rooms (ensuite) were immaculate and it was such a quiet peaceful area we all slept really well. Unfortunately we were too distracted by the stunning wineries to make use of the hot tub at the house! Robert was really friendly and helpful with advice about the area. Definitely recommended for a lovely, homely, fun-filled getaway from the city. A perfect location to appreciate very stunning scenery and very fine wines.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoek van holland, the netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The garden is colourful and beautifully cared for by Diane&Robert. The rooms romantic, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The hosts make this a home away from home,their home is your home.They even mended a broken zipper for me! Bike and helmets are available at no extra cost and the wineries are right on the doorstep. The jacuzzi and bbq are added bonuses. Come and look for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck-dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

A friend and I stayed at Olde Mill House for a little vacation before we headed to Australia on business and we could not have asked for a better time. Robert and Diane are some of the kindest people I have ever met. Their house is very homey and the room we stayed in was clean and beautiful. Robert and DIane took very good care of us. Our bags were lost through our airline and they did everything they could to help us out/keep us comfortable. It was great having the bicycles to use, as the vineyards are very close and it's lots of fun to ride the bikes out for wine tastings. If I could go back to New Zealand, I would definitely want to go back to Renwick and stay at Olde Millhouse. Thank you Diane and Robert!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeatonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

An absolute pleasant stay. The first impression of there beautiful garden is excellent, and it's just getting better from here!
Diane and Robert are such lovely and caring hosts, you really feel at home! You will get spoiled with there hospitality, the bicycles are in excellent condition, they'll even drop you off and pick you up from dinner (follow there advise if a seat is available, most delicious food we have had in New Zealand)
The rooms are nice and absolutely quiet, so you'll get excellent sleep!
The breakfast is very very good! So many home made different marmelades (most of them are even home grown), you couldn't try them all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vier99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

What a great place. It has everything. You get an ensuite bedroom, use of a hot tub, great view, landscaped surrounds, and a fully catered continental breakfast. The best part is the use of bikes to travel around the wineries, oh and not to mention a fantastic price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just returned from our New Zealand holiday and during that time we were fortunate enough to spend two days at The Olde Mill House with Dianne and Robert.To say it is a great place to stay is an understatement. I had chosen this place due to the number of positive reviews it had received on this website.I could not believe the level of satisfaction that these reviews said they received but after experiencing the hospitality of Dianne and Robert for myself I have been compeled to put my own review on line agreeing with all the positive comments that I have read. From the moment of our arrival to our departure nothing was to much trouble. The bikes,the spa and our room ensured our stay was energetic and relaxing depending on our mood. The highlight for me was the wonderful home grown and made fruit and preserves that greeted us at breakfast every morning. There were so many taste treats that the toaster was hard pressed keeping up. Thanks again guys for a wonderfull stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John255059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Ellena Court Motel
Ellena Court Motel
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Property: Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing