We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The comfiest bed in the whole of the South Island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The comfiest bed in the whole of the South Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Olde Mill House. The owners were very friendly and flexible about my arrival time. They even helped me change my flat tyre! The bedroom was so comfortable with gorgeous attention to detail, and the breakfast was a home-style continental with home-made jams. I felt at home here.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms in the B&B would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lula859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
199
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic B & B, lovely people, great location for the vineyards. Would recommend making use of the free bikes to cycle around nearby wineries. Hosts were very helpful. Beautiful house and gardens, spotlessly clean room and ensuite. Had a great time and can heartily recommend it.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of a 10 day trip in the South Island. Diane was very helpful with some questions we had before we came regarding walks and was able to put us in touch with relevant people. Our stay was very comfortable, breakfasts were delicious and we were able to get some clothes washed and because of the great weather we could dry them outside. Both Diane and Robert are what makes this guest house a home from home. They are very welcoming and offer their beautiful home to us, the guests. We loved the hot tub and we made us of the BBQ on our final night (we got the most amazing meat from the butcher in Renwick, already prepared). Sadly we just didn't have the time to cyle but it is a wonderful extra to have included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBandLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved our stay at this B and B, and Robert and Dianne were so helpful. The room was beautifully decorated with many little extras and the garden and hot tub made the stay additionally relaxing. So many roses even in the autumn. Breakfast was excellent with a range of home made preserves and the best coffee. We would recommend this B and B with no reservations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved the Old Mill house. Stunning homestead in magnificent gardens, bed unbelievably comfy and the hosts Robert and Di just charming people. Jasper is obviously a welcome extra too :) Breakie fantastic. Highly recommended and would happily come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheerBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location of this B & B is nice, not far from winetasting and with picturesque sheep grazing across the street despite being in a residential area. There's a definite "funky family feeling" about the place which appeals to some people. Our room had a white netting over the bed which seemed a nuisance at times. We stayed for 3 days and though the hosts were very nice, there was not much attention to details. Our room was never cleaned and no trash removed and towels changed upon request. The towels are sundried which is lovely for the smell but very very rough on the skin. Wifi was at times not as efficient as expected. On the positive side, the breakfast was continental but hearty with homemade jams and the coffees were professional and delicious. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Well we have never had an average review before. Yes it should have that family feeling here as we invite you to share our home and learn how New Zealanders live. A home away from home is the energy we try to project. The white canopy is for decoration and can be draped aside and we have never had negative comments about these in the past . It is our policy to make beds & tidy every day . Then change towels in the summer every second day or as required. We always wait until guests go out for the day to do this . If guests request things to be done out of normal sequence it would appear to them that they needed to ask. All our washing is sun dried it is healthier and more Eco friendly to do so. We are in a rural situation here and do not have super fast Wi-Fi that cities enjoy. But you should acknowledge that it is FREE to guests.
We all need to keep improving ourselves and the tasks we undertake and welcome positive feedback.
Thank you Robert & Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Robert and Diane run an awesome B&B in Marlborough wine country. The B&B and rooms are super clean and comfortable, set amidst a beautiful garden. They will let you borrow bikes to ride to all the nearby wineries. Check out the Gibson Bridge winery nearby if you get a chance. It's a boutique winery run by a really awesome couple. I recommend the Olde Mill for anyone staying in Marlborough. Also, go say hi to Jasper the border collie in the backyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you Kristopher for your kind review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us here in Renwick, Marlborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Property: Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing