We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.... but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location of this B & B is nice, not far from winetasting and with picturesque sheep grazing across the street despite being in a residential area. There's a definite "funky family feeling" about the place which appeals to some people. Our room had a white netting over the bed which seemed a nuisance at times. We stayed for 3 days and though the hosts were very nice, there was not much attention to details. Our room was never cleaned and no trash removed and towels changed upon request. The towels are sundried which is lovely for the smell but very very rough on the skin. Wifi was at times not as efficient as expected. On the positive side, the breakfast was continental but hearty with homemade jams and the coffees were professional and delicious. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Well we have never had an average review before. Yes it should have that family feeling here as we invite you to share our home and learn how New Zealanders live. A home away from home is the energy we try to project. The white canopy is for decoration and can be draped aside and we have never had negative comments about these in the past . It is our policy to make beds & tidy every day . Then change towels in the summer every second day or as required. We always wait until guests go out for the day to do this . If guests request things to be done out of normal sequence it would appear to them that they needed to ask. All our washing is sun dried it is healthier and more Eco friendly to do so. We are in a rural situation here and do not have super fast Wi-Fi that cities enjoy. But you should acknowledge that it is FREE to guests.
We all need to keep improving ourselves and the tasks we undertake and welcome positive feedback.
Thank you Robert & Diane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Robert and Diane run an awesome B&B in Marlborough wine country. The B&B and rooms are super clean and comfortable, set amidst a beautiful garden. They will let you borrow bikes to ride to all the nearby wineries. Check out the Gibson Bridge winery nearby if you get a chance. It's a boutique winery run by a really awesome couple. I recommend the Olde Mill for anyone staying in Marlborough. Also, go say hi to Jasper the border collie in the backyard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristopher_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you Kristopher for your kind review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us here in Renwick, Marlborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful home set in magnificent gardens....so many pretty flower beds! Numerous home made jams available for breakfast, generous sized rooms, free WiFI, such welcoming hosts - it really was a tranquil stay. Robert and Diane were so accomodating, twice giving us a lift to save us a taxi fare. Add to that the Olde Mill House is surrounded by vineyards, it really was a superb find. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at The Olde Mill House B&B. It is situated in a perfect location for visiting wineries. Diane and Robert were delightful hosts. Their home is quaint and our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Diane and Robert were great hosts and gave us useful local information including wineries to visit. The garden was beautiful and a very relaxing place to sit in. We didn't trust ourselves with the free bicycles to visit the wineries but that is a great asset for those used to cycling. A great location and we would certainly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi Pamela, Thank you for your kind words. Yes you are right if you can't take advantage of the free bikes there are about 5 wine tour company's that will pick you up from our B&B in their vans for a guided tour of the cellar doors or there would be 3 or 4 within walking distance for the active person. Happy tasting Diane & Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Olde Mill is the perfect place for a stop in wine country! Diane and Robert make you feel welcome and provide a lovely oasis to enjoy after a day of exploring the nearby vineyards. The gardens are spectacular - Don't be worried about the bees! They really don't bother with you, but there is also an alternate path if you are really concerned.

Our room was beautiful - clean and cozy with a big ensuite bathroom, complete with lovely bath products, a hairdryer and comfy robes. The room has glass doors leading out to a terrace with a table & chairs for 2... perfect for enjoying morning coffee or an afternoon glass of wine!

The bicycles are in great condition and come with helmets and satchel bags for any purchases you make at the cellar doors along the wine route. Robert set us up with a map and some great recommendations for exploring this picturesque region, which is literally all within 5KMs of the Olde Mill.

We used the remarkably clean and well-maintained grill to cook up a great dinner and then thoroughly enjoyed a soak in the hot tub, sampling some of the fruits of our earlier labors! (A great sparkling red called "Bubbles for Beth", from local winery Forrest)

Breakfast in the morning included lots of homemade preserves, james and spreads - I think the ginger & fig was my personal fave! It was nice to meet the other guests and swap stories about our wonderful New Zealand adventures and the subtle differences in various "Marmite" spreads. Diane makes great lattes, which starts the morning off right!

The Olde Mill is a fantastic value for money and shouldn't be missed if you are planning on exploring the Marlborough wine country!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjtravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi, It's really great to read such a positive review. We are pleased to know that our guests do recognize that we do offer a good value experience of staying in a NZ home. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The facilities provided were quite lovely. A characterful house, surrounded by the most beautiful garden and very good value if you took up the bike hire. Robert was very good at sorting you out suitable bikes and happy to rescue you should you get into difficulties or go a bit overboard on the wine tasting!
There was an extra charge for cooked breakfast which personally I have never come across before in a bed and breakfast.With all the other wondrful facilities they had on offer including free use of the hot tub,this seemed a bit of a shame.There were also no personal tea and coffee making facilities instead you were invited to find your way round the family kitchen and make your own.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyP775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do advertise that a continental breakfast is supplied, we could put up our prices to include the cooked breakfast but then guests that do not want a cooked breakfast would be paying for it any way. We felt that being a Kiwi {5th generation] B&B not an English one we would provide a breakfast that best represents what we in New Zealand would have for our breakfast.
With a homestay style of B&B you share the house facilities with your guests ie Kitchen, TV lounge etc , that way we feel that there is more social inter action with guests and then they have the sanctuary of their rooms for privacy . We are pleased that you enjoyed the Free Bikes, Spa, Wi-Fi, Etc.
Happy traveling Diane & Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing