We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wined and dined!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wined and dined!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Olde Mill is the perfect place for a stop in wine country! Diane and Robert make you feel welcome and provide a lovely oasis to enjoy after a day of exploring the nearby vineyards. The gardens are spectacular - Don't be worried about the bees! They really don't bother with you, but there is also an alternate path if you are really concerned.

Our room was beautiful - clean and cozy with a big ensuite bathroom, complete with lovely bath products, a hairdryer and comfy robes. The room has glass doors leading out to a terrace with a table & chairs for 2... perfect for enjoying morning coffee or an afternoon glass of wine!

The bicycles are in great condition and come with helmets and satchel bags for any purchases you make at the cellar doors along the wine route. Robert set us up with a map and some great recommendations for exploring this picturesque region, which is literally all within 5KMs of the Olde Mill.

We used the remarkably clean and well-maintained grill to cook up a great dinner and then thoroughly enjoyed a soak in the hot tub, sampling some of the fruits of our earlier labors! (A great sparkling red called "Bubbles for Beth", from local winery Forrest)

Breakfast in the morning included lots of homemade preserves, james and spreads - I think the ginger & fig was my personal fave! It was nice to meet the other guests and swap stories about our wonderful New Zealand adventures and the subtle differences in various "Marmite" spreads. Diane makes great lattes, which starts the morning off right!

The Olde Mill is a fantastic value for money and shouldn't be missed if you are planning on exploring the Marlborough wine country!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjtravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi, It's really great to read such a positive review. We are pleased to know that our guests do recognize that we do offer a good value experience of staying in a NZ home. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
204
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The facilities provided were quite lovely. A characterful house, surrounded by the most beautiful garden and very good value if you took up the bike hire. Robert was very good at sorting you out suitable bikes and happy to rescue you should you get into difficulties or go a bit overboard on the wine tasting!
There was an extra charge for cooked breakfast which personally I have never come across before in a bed and breakfast.With all the other wondrful facilities they had on offer including free use of the hot tub,this seemed a bit of a shame.There were also no personal tea and coffee making facilities instead you were invited to find your way round the family kitchen and make your own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyP775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do advertise that a continental breakfast is supplied, we could put up our prices to include the cooked breakfast but then guests that do not want a cooked breakfast would be paying for it any way. We felt that being a Kiwi {5th generation] B&B not an English one we would provide a breakfast that best represents what we in New Zealand would have for our breakfast.
With a homestay style of B&B you share the house facilities with your guests ie Kitchen, TV lounge etc , that way we feel that there is more social inter action with guests and then they have the sanctuary of their rooms for privacy . We are pleased that you enjoyed the Free Bikes, Spa, Wi-Fi, Etc.
Happy traveling Diane & Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Diane and Robert. Our room was clean and comfortable and the outside patio was a bonus and meant we could fully enjoy the good weather. The garden was superb and well kept. The house is located very close to a number of vineyards which we visited on the bikes supplied by Robert who also gave us a good route to follow. We would recommend Olde Mill House to anyone.

Room Tip: Request room with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Six of us stayed here so we had the B and B to ourselves which is always good. The rooms are lovely - spacious, well furnished and all with en suites. The breakfast is really good - with fantastic coffee! We stayed three nights which is quite a test for a B and B and we were generally happy with our stay. We would like to have had access to a guest TV room or similar for nights when we couldn't sit outside. But the spa was lovely and the garden is truly spectacular.

Coeliac rating: Very good. There was gluten free bread for breakfast and gluten free cereal if I'd wanted it. As all of the condiments were home made and truly delicious, there was no worry there either!

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the olde mill house for 1 night in early January. First impressions are of the stunningly lovely garden. Having settled in Robert, our host, quickly organised 4 bikes for us and with his advice we set off for lunch and a tour of the wineries in glorious sunshine. On our return we made use of the spa and the bbq and terrace. This is a very friendly house, beautiful rooms and you are truly staying in Diane and Robert's house. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We left after a delicious breakfast of homemade muesli, jams etc. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December 2012. The room was at the front of the house and very pleasant. When we arrived our host, Robert, offered us tea on the verandah. He brought us a tray with some delicious homemade treats. On our second night we made use of the outdoor spa. The stay was very comfortable and I would certainly recommend this accommodation to other couples looking for a good B & B.

Room Tip: Not much in the way of restaurants out this way. Perhaps go to Giesens for lunch (a platter) and hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melb0urneSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the nicest places I have stayed at! Lovely lovely friendly hosts that welcome you into their home - the rooms are spacious and very clean, they all have their own ensuites too. The property is bathed in sunshine and the woners have ensured that the grounds are super tidy - I will be going back there and suggest you do too - Thank you Robert and Diane for your fantastic kiwi hospitality - others could stand to learn alot from hosts like you - thanks again

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - there is one room that has two single beds in if thats what your after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
626 reviews
6.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Tavern & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Property: Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing