We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous B+B”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in early 2012 with 2 friends. Hired bikes to see the sights (wineries). Wonderful friendly hosts and relaxing place to stay. Would recommend to anyone. Great base to explore as wineries are so close by.
Food was good with a large continental breakfast each morning. The two rooms we had were also excellent.
Difficult to find fault.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pct66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
205
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a really cute B&B that was everything we expected. The hostess was great. The hot tub was nice out back. And there are like 25 wineries within 5k of the house. You can rent bikes here to go wine tasting (which I highly recommend over the competition which is more expensive and further away). Their gardens are also beautiful and the homemade jams and local spreads for breakfast was a nice touch.

Guests staying here should really have a car with them...otherwise you are pretty screwed for dinner options. The wineries all close about 4 or 5pm, and there is only one crappy restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and given expert assistance in setting off for our cycle to the vineyards. A shower popped up, but it was no problem, since Robert came in the van to pick us up, bikes and all. Back at the B&B we enjoyed our wine purchase on the porch, with a view of the lovely garden. After a peaceful night of rest under the warm, wool blankets, we savored Diane's homemade breakfast treats before setting off for Picton, with accurate driving directions from Robert. A special New Zealand memory to treasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent two nights with Diane and Robert and made use of their free cycle hire to visit some of the wineries in the Marlborough region. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the bed was comfortable and the room dark owing to the thick curtains, so we slept well. A tasty and substantial continental breakfast was provided and cooked for an extra charge.It was a delight to share their beautiful home with them and I recommend them very strongly.
The town of Renwick has little to offer the visitor, however, and eating out there is very hit and miss. It is a shame that some of the wine income has not flowed into improving the infrasructure of Renwick and its close neighbour, Blenheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Mum & I stayed at the Olde Mill House for 4 nights. It was absolutely brilliant. Hosts Diane & Robert were very welcoming & had a wealth of information about the area. The bikes provided were great & the warm spa after a day of riding was very nice to come home too! Our room was extremely clean, decorated lovely, it was cosy and quiet. The breakfasts in the morning were also delicious! We cooked for 2 of the evenings we stayed which was also great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend the Olde Mill House to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaky1982
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here after spending four long weeks in a campervan and so were grateful for the lovely bath and big bed. The owners are really friendly and helpful and the bike hire and maps are brilliant - although i would avoid the tandem bike unless you have brilliant balance (wine plus tandem equals hard work!). The homemade breakfast the next day was a real treat too! Great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is great! We stayed here three nights and enjoyed every minute. Diane was out of town during our stay, but Robert took care of everything perfectly! He is very kind and really cares about the happiness of his guests. Jasper is their wonderful dog, who was very hard to leave behind.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The showers are good. They offer a lot of choices at breakfast. The hot tub is great, although we wished it were hotter, as we had very cool weather and got caught in a few rain storms. The yard is absolutely wonderful and relaxing.

We wished there were more restaurant selections in town, as we went to the wineries during the day and did not want to drive anywhere. We ended up cooking one night, which worked out well. What the area lacks in restaurants, it made up for in wineries. In two days, we were able to easily bike to over 20! The bikes worked well and the wine bags definitely came in handy.

Overall, a great trip. If we're ever back in the area, we'll definitely make another trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Tavern & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Property: Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing