We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homy, well maintained, nice owners”
Review of Watson's Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watson's Way Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

One of the best backpackers we have stayed in during our trip in NZ. The owners were super nice, the rooms were like new, cozy, beds super comfy, big kitchen, lots of space and utensils. Location is also great - right next to all the vineyards. The only cons - lots of flies, little space in the showers and not working wi-fi. All in all would def stay there again and recommend for others. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UgneMatekonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Watson's Way Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. It's run by a lovely couple who are extremely helpful. We stayed in our campervan but used the kitchen and bathroom facilities at the hostel. All areas were exceptionally clean and tidy. They also do bike here so you can explore the Marlborough wine trail right from the door step!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a double room with ensuite bathroom. Our room was called "Toni".
It was a little tight for putting all our bags down, but other than that the room was great. The kitchen is well equipped and just about big enough (only two sinks for washing up so when it gets busy you have to go and have another glass of wine before cleaning up - oh what a shame!).
The hosts are very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions on where to go and what to do.
We hired bikes from them one day and they were very good. Well maintained and supplied with panniers just in case you happen to visit a vineyard or two and perhaps buy a bottle or several.
We managed eight vineyards in a day and barely scratched the surface - there are so many nearby.
There is a butcher nearby who provided two meals for us. One day we had a steak pie from him and another we had two steaks which we cooked on the bbq. Both were excellent.
There is wifi and, as seems ubiquitous in NZ, it's not free but here they give you a 50MB credit to get you started.
Sadly when we were there we saw that the business is for sale (retirement beckons). Here's hoping they find a buyer who keeps it running as well as it is currently.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EdinburghDrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom.

I do have to say that our double room did not look like any of the photographs above but that said it was cozy and comfortable. The room itself was pretty small and comprised of a bunk bed, double on the bottom and single on the top and a little TV/DVD player which was lovely as we could rent a movie from reception and watch it in bed (a bit of home comfort)!! Bathrooms were clean with hot showers.

There is an open plan kitchen and living space. The Kitchen was clean with little ovens (those on the counter types) and plenty of utensils. You had baskets to store your food in on a shelf. There were tables for people to sit at and eat and there were board games to play (no TV in living area).

There were only a couple of sofas in the living area so I imagine that could get a bit crowded in busy months.

The people running the hostal were lovely, they recommended tours of the wineries, hired bikes and went out of their way to help us fix a car problem we had. A really nice gesture was giving us a little chocolate each when we returned our keys and checked out :)


Likes

Cleanliness
DVD Hire
Info at reception and general helpfulness
Big Kitchen
Tennis courts
Bike Hire

Dislikes/Improvements

Room was a tad small


I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here in our campervan for only one night, but what a fantastic place, with great kitchen and common room. The hosts are really sweet and keep things soooo Nice and clean. We rentes bikes from The place, also super experience. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yes I do mean "to" and not "from". We stayed at Watsons way for 2 weeks whilst between houses. It was warm, friendly and clean and for backpackers accommodation you couldn't have asked for more. Our private room had a heater, en suite and places to store our clothes as well as a TV with the facility to rent DVD's should we wish to. The kitchen was always clean and fruit from the garden was in season for free. Pat and Paul were very accommodating and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant memory in what could have been a very stressful time. We met some lovely people during our stay and would recommend this to anyone. Bicycles are also available to hire for touring the many local cellar doors.

Room Tip: Private en suite rooms are available as well as family rooms and bunk rooms for those on a tight bud...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed for one night only travelling around NZ but would recommend the place to everyone. Very friendly owners who make you feel at home. Beautiful Garden with fruit trees where you can sit enjoying your evening. Very nice and spacious common area with fully equipment kitchen. Nice Room. Great location for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.6 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Lodge

Address: 56 High Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand (Formerly Watson's Way Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing