We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place i've stayed in NZ...Like home away from home”
Review of Watson's Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watson's Way Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
goa
2 reviews
“Best place i've stayed in NZ...Like home away from home”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and was perfect...the owners live on site and they are very welcoming and made us feel like part of the family. the rooms are great value for money, clean and confortable. The living area is a great social hub and the garden is tranquil and full of fruit trees with a great hammock you could sit in all day. the location is perfect to visit the famous wine country here.....what more can i say...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at Watson's Way for 3 nights to explore the Marlborough wineries. This place was perfect! We had arrived a little late, having decided to eat dinner out rather than prepare food for the first night. We were welcomed by the lovely Pat who showed us all of the facilities and open spaces. These included a tennis court, hammocks, picnic tables in a leafy yard and clean and spacious communal cooking spaces.
We booked a double private room which was much better than some of the other places we've stayed, including hotels! The room was brightly coloured, with a queen bed, tv and DVD player and spotless ensuite. Unlike other hostels, towels were included with the room.
We decided to hire bicycles the following day and Paul couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with a map of wineries, including ones which charge for tastings. That night we self-catered and the hostel is located only 100m or so to the local supermarket and there is a local butcher as well as other shops.
The only negative about this place is it not having a direct booking online! Otherwise, everything was fantastic and we were very sad to leave.

Room Tip: The double private rooms are worth the extra money if you're travelling in a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed one night at Watson's Way Backpackers in our unpowered campervan. The facilities were well organised and maintained. Everything was clean and tidy and the owners, Paul and Pat, were very helpful and hospitable. We even got given complimentary chocolates. We highly recommend renting bicycles from the hostel and cycling to the wineries in the Renwick area. The best hostel we have stayed at, and one which we will stay at again if we are in the area. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at one of the powered sites in our campervan at Watson's Way. They were extremely helpful with all the information on the vineyards closeby and the bikes are a bargain to hire compared to some places in Blenheim. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were attracted to Watson's Way by the bike facilities and the central location, and also by the beautiful garden. Despite that, we were a bit worried about bringing a young family to a backpacker's but we need not have had concerns - we were made very welcome indeed, both by Paul and Pat, the hosts, and by all the other guests.

The children's room was very clean and comfortable, with bunk beds and a small TV. It wasn't large but it had everything they needed, including a nearby bathroom. The other room was very comfortable with an ensuite. Again, it wasn't large but given the size of the living and dining area, we only went there to sleep, anyway!

The kitchens and bathrooms were spotless, as was the rest of the house - the "no shoes" policy really pays off! The kitchen was very well stocked and there was a nearby supermarket, so supplies weren't hard to come by.

Best of all were the fantastic bikes. Rentals can be iffy but I liked my bike's gears better than my bike at home (time to upgrade?). The kids were all well accommodated nad their helmets were good too, a really good range of bikes for all ages and sizes.

Renwick is very flat but the roads can be busy (wine and other trucks racing past). We did a 13km loop over the day and had a lovely time, and were happy to see the beautiful garden at Watson's Way at the end of it.

The children loved the hammock and the boules court in particular, and the common room was a great place to drink the local wines and chat to the other guests.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in our motorhome with use of the indoor facilities (kitchen, bathrooms etc) and loved it! Pat and Paul are really lovely and welcoming and happy to help and provide info, everything was spotlessly clean and you can hire bikes for a day of cycling round the many vineyards, highly recommended! A great place to stay! Thanks :))) Darren and Claire

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizarocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

With three young kids we wanted to stay centrally within the wine producing region and have access to bicycles to do the tour without a car. Watson's Way met that for us perfectly.

Wait but there's more. The hosts manage the house, the grounds and the bicycle shop very well, Paul keeps a large supply of quality maintained bikes with helmets and a trailer that fit our two 4 yr old twins. The house is simple, but sufficient and clean. The family area is warm and friendly - conducive to evening chats drinking your day's harvest and making new friends. The grounds were fertile and mature with many fruit trees and a pass-through we found to be excellent to a rear tennis court and then to a public sports field, playground and skatepark. Our <10s were all able to get to the playground etc. directly from the rear of the house without getting on a road.

The bike wine trip with kids was risky at times as the council did not offer protected and safe bikes lanes. There is a suggested wine tasting cycle route, but did not include the popular wineries. To reach them, we had to be on the main road and were at times fully exposed to 60kph+ traffic on soft shouldered roads. Other parts of the bike routes off the main roads, were beautiful and serene - just lovely on bikes. One example of a real problem was getting to Cloudy Bay and other's farther out, this required excellent bike skills due to the 100kph soft shouldered road with no bike lanes.

I strongly recommend that these municipalities and the wine growers join to develop a dedicated cycleway, it would be a wonderful experience and a strong attraction for tourists.

I also recommend Watson's Way for a family stay as well as for all others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Lodge

Property: Watson's Way Lodge
Address: 56 High Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand (Formerly Watson's Way Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing