We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely and comfy hostel”
Review of Watson's Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watson's Way Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
in transit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely and comfy hostel”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The owners were very welcoming and obviously proud of their lovely hostel. The hostel itself was squeaky clean with comfortable beds and lovely, crisp linens. Good, hot showers. All very, very clean. There's a large kitchen with a comfy lounge and some good outdoor patio space as well. On-site parking and Zenbu wifi.

Just a few steps away from the hostel there's a grocery store, a cafe, petrol station, and even a few pubs. No reason to spend the night in Blenheim, I can highly recommend Watson's Way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nice room (dbl ensuite). well designed! very clean, big and with TV. The walls are glass-made but there are curtains to isolate you from the outsude world. Owners are very kind. Kitchen is big and well equipped. do not enter room oe kitchen with shoes, which are likely to dirt the carpets.
A must-be place, close to the many wineries around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myifrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in a double room with a shared bath. The common room is very nice with a huge kitchen making it easy for us to save money by buying food at the local supermarket and eating it here. The bedroom was small with the bed on one side of the room meaning the person on the wall-side of the bed (me) had to literally climb over the other person to exit. A nice touch was a DVD player in the room (you can rent movies from the owners for $1).

My only problem with this place is the bathrooms. The co-ed bathrooms were freezing cold! Since they have a "no shoes" policy, this made the bathroom floor even colder. Also I didn't find it very sanitary to be in a shared toilet stall without shoes, but that could just be my germophobia kicking in.

However, the price was so reasonable for this place that I feel that I can still recommend it. Also, the location is excellent. Renwick is right in the heart of wine country (2 wineries are even a 15-20 min walk away), so I'm not sure why anyone who wants to wine taste would prefer to stay in Blenheim. There's also a nice cafe and a great fish n chips place about a block away. For a cheap, well-located place to see the win country, I recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberrylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed here in a double bedroom using the shared bathroom facilities in April 2011. The lodge is perfect for touring the local wineries, as you can hire out bikes on site and then take a leisurely cycle around sampling the many wines. There are lots of wineries within easy cycling distance on a nice circular route, and barely any charge for tasting (generally seem to be happy to promote their wines). Renwick is also a nice quiet place to stay in, and I would recommend the Cork and Keg just around the corner for food and drink. The lodge itself was very spacious, with a large living and kitchen area and enough showers and toilets so that one was always free. Wi-fi can be accessed through the Zenbu network, so you are looking at $10 per 100mb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizzleMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way to the West Coast. Paul, the owner, welcomed us upon arrival. The lodge was purpose built so great kitchen living room area. It is situated at the rear of the property with lovely trees and even a tennis court. We had one of the ensuite double rooms, there was fresh roses in a vase on the dressing table.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The hosts here are lovely, the hostel is clean, tidy and well presented. You are made to feel very welcome and it makes a great change from all these big soulless backpackers. Rooms are a little tight but the living and kitchen area makesup for it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here before leaving the South Island to spend a day cycling round the local wineries in Renwick. The hostel is lovely, our double ensuite room was clean and cosy, with a TV and DVD player. The kitchen is big and well equiped and the living area is great, with games and loads of info on what to do locally. You can hire DVDs too. The friendly owners rented us bikes for the day of visiting wineries too and recommended a few places to stop in. We loved it here and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Lodge

Property: Watson's Way Lodge
Address: 56 High Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand (Formerly Watson's Way Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing