We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell Tower on Dog Point
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the French Barn while biking in the wine region. Stunning grounds, lovely hosts (who drove us into Blenheim so we could get some groceries to BBQ that evening), and a perfectly relaxing atmosphere. A fully stocked kitchenette so we could make breakfast, and snacks for the day ahead of biking. If we ever are lucky enough to return to New Zealand, staying at the Bell Tower again is a must for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the French Barn - very luxurious for just the 2 of us. Could easily accommodate two cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for a few days and were enchanted. The Bell Tower is exquisite with beautifully tasteful rooms and a picturesque garden. Above all, Kirsty is a wonderful host. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were splendid -especially the homemade banana loaf. The setting, on the fabulous Dog Point vineyard, is idyllic. We really didn't want to leave. A real treat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a lovely stay! Kirsty is such a wonderful host. We stayed in the French Barn, which was absolutely charming. The views are very nice and this little house is just exactly want you need when you are travelling for a longer period. I can highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The French Barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FvanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you stay anywhere in Marlborough, stay here! This was our second visit and, onc again, it was one of our highlights of all the places we stayed in an 8 week tour of NZ. We stayed in the French Barn, which is a bit indulgent for only 2 people, but absolutely lovely to have the extra space and a feeling of being in a 'home from home'. The views are outstanding, and the star gazing was amazing. The property is also within easy driving distance of Blenheim, and handy for day trips to Havelock and Picton. Kirsty, the host, is absolutely charming - she can't do enough for her guests, and was more than generous in keeping our kitchen stocked with all sorts of nice things to eat - and plenty of lovely bottles of Dog Point Sauvignon!! You can also have anything from her lovely kitchen garden, so we enjoyed evening meals including home-grown lettuce, tomatoes, courgettes etc. Sheer relaxation and enjoyment from start to finish. We will always include this property on future trips to New Zealand, and cannot recommend it highly enough for its charm, understated luxury and lovely host.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison_simpson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent ages hunting for the right place to stay on our recent trip to the Marbrough wine area. I settled on The Bell Tower on Dog Point and took the Barn accommodaton. It was wonderful, the setting is so peaceful, close to all the wineries and Blenhim township. Designed in French Provincal style and increadly tasteful. The rooms in the main house are to die for also. Kirsty is a wonderful host. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bell Tower and never wanted to leave. The lodge itself is outstanding, the food and wine superb and the service from Kirsty and her team is second to none. The location is stunning and although we didn't have the best of weather whilst there, nothing could spoil the wonderful, far reaching views. This is a firm favourite of ours and we intend to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp_66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at The Bell Tower in March on a three week trip around New Zealand. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel incredibly welcome by Kirsty. This was a special holiday for my husband's birthday which we celebrated here. We stayed in the French Barn which was lovely and private with fantastic views and a well stocked fridge full of soft drinks, fruit, beers and a bottle of bubbly for our birthday celebration. The fridge was restocked eat day and a cheese board delivered in the evening for a nibble before dinner. Each morning Kirsty would arrive with trays full of large helpings of both continental and cooked breakfasts to our taste. She booked a restaurant for our evening meal and even gave us a lift there which was very kind. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay, especially for a special occasion. The views are beautiful, surrounded by famous wineries to visit and only a 5 minute drive to Blenheim itself. Lovely. Monty, the friendly yellow labrador was an added bonus! We stayed in many luxury lodges during our stay in New Zealand, but the Bell Tower still rates as number one for us in terms of hospitality and overall experience. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy064Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Renwick hotels
1.8 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
3 mi away
Bonniebrook
Bonniebrook
#4 of 9 in Renwick
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Woodbourne Tavern & Motel
2.3 mi away
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Tower on Dog Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Tower on Dog Point

Address: 71 Brookby Road, Renwick 7272, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Renwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Tower on Dog Point 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bell Tower on Dog Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing