We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful home in an olive grove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived mid afternoon to a warm welcome by Jo. We were shown into the Courtyard room. It is spacious and light, with windows on three sides. There is a solid wood queen bed and the most comfortable mattress imaginable. A wooden table and two chairs are by one of the windows and on it was a plate of carrot cake, and a jar of cookies. There was a couch and armchair to relax in and read the pile of magazines. A fridge and tea and coffee making amenities. In the bathroom are local products including bathfoam for a bubble bath. There is a CD player and relaxing music to listen to while you soak.

Jo booked our restaurant for us and offered to drive us there and collect us, if we wanted to drink. She took our continental breakfast order, and when we arrived back from dinner in the evening, she had turned down the bed, replenished the towels and laid the table for breakfast. Before we went to the restaurant we had a complimentary sherry from the decantor on our sideboard.

We had a very quiet and comfortable sleep and went for an early morning walk past the vineyards that surround their home. Hillsfield house is only ten minutes from Bleheim and in the heart of the vineyard country. Jo and Steve have planted an olive grove around their home. We arrived back from the walk to see their white pidgeons flying in to be fed and had a chance to see their beautiful garden out the back of their home.

Breakfast reflected their generosity with freshly squeezed orange juice, a fruit platter, warm croissants and homemade jam. There was also the coffee and the cereal.

This is the best bed and breakfast experience we have had ever.



Philippa

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 445 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

I found this B&B on trip advisor and made the booking. Jo responded that that if we needed any local information or help, just ask. As I was booking my rental car, I was having trouble with the counter not being open the night we arrived, so Jo offered to collect us from the airport, and bring me back to the airport the next morning to get a car.

The house is lovely, and Jo and Steve are great hosts. They were warm and welcoming, and Jo went out of her way to make sure all our needs were met. The room is more like a separate cottage next to the house, a great feeling of privacy. If we're ever back in New Zealand, we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

What a surprise as we drove into the driveway, an imposing house, with a French appearance and appeal and in extensive grounds, and the B & B accommodation seperate just to the right and it is all surrounded by many vineyards. Jo was there to greet us before we had stopped and she looked after us throughout our 3 night stay. The Loft is a purpose built B & B with a great homely and very comfortable feel to it. The fittings and furniture are all good quality, with complimentary sherry to compliment it all. Superb continental breakfast served in the room, using quality cutlery and crockery. Jo, and husband Steve, were so helpful offering really good advice, especially relating to the vineyards, bikes are even provided to tour them. Twiggy the Alpaca is a joy to meet.
No complaints at all, extremely good value for money. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hillsfield House for one night in October 2010 (in the 'Loft' room). We absolutely loved everything about it. The location is lovely - surrounded by gardens, vineyards, and mountains in the distance. We couldn't believe how beautiful the view from our room was. The room itself was impeccable - tastefully decorated, fresh flowers, locally-made bath products - so relaxing and cozy.

Jo was so helpful. She gave us recommendations for area wineries and for a local Indian restaurant - all great recommendations. And she introduced us to the animals - including the adorable alpacas. So much fun! And breakfast was to-die-for! Everything was so delicious and the portions were generous. We loved how Jo delivered it to our room in the morning.

We were so sad when it was time to leave and wished we'd booked more than one night there. If we ever go back to New Zealand, we will go out of our way just to stay there again. We highly recommend Hillsfield House!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777,884,444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Jo & Steve made us feel very welcome, the room was furnished thoughtfully & the location was the perfect base to explore the Marlborough wineries. I especially liked the locally produced toiletries. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySeahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Hillsfield House is definitely the best place my husband and I have stayed if you like B & B's. We have traveled through France, Belgium, Spain, Ireland, Monaco, Hawaii and California and I will never forget this place! There are ponies and alpacas on the grounds, and don't forget the stream that borders the backyard- it was a fairy tale setting for our picnic and bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.

Jo and Steve were so friendly and welcoming, they brought breakfast to our room in the mornings and we didn't feel pressured to be up and dressed right away but instead they told us to relax and stay in our PJ's as long as we wanted.

I plan to return to New Zealand in the future, I really fell in love with the country and when we do go back I will most definitely be looking up the Hillsfield House B&B again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were looking for a quiet spot in the Marlborough region to explore the wineries.
We were fortunate to find Hillsfield House B&B in Renwick.
Wonderful location, walking distance to the town and the local English pub with views to the snow capped mountains and Alpacas grazing outside your bedroom window.
Our hosts Jo & Steve were very accommodating; respecting our privacy and delivering a guest picked country breakfast to our room each morning.
We will return with friends to Hillsfield House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhitchelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: $178 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing