We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hillsfield House lived every bit up to my expectations and more! Jo picked us up from the bus station with a smile and a big hug (even though our was late by half an hour!)

The room was homey and impeccable and breakfast was to die for! Do not pass on the croissants! The hospitality at Hillsfield House was unmatched by any other place we stayed.

Blenheim is a quaint little town and is close proximity to many great wineries. Definitely worth the visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanelLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 445 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Was a perfect end to our honeymoon. Jo and Steve were attentive and helpful - with very good recommendations - which certainly made the days very easy and relaxed. Taking the bikes around the vineyards was the best! Highly recommended - Thanks Jo & Steve for being such great hosts!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vetty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the only review I've ever felt compelled to write because of how perfect our stay at the Hillsfield House was. Jo & Steve are just outstanding people, the nicest and most accommodating people you will ever find. The rooms are perfect (we stayed in the Loft), their breakfast (the croissants are pure heaven) are perfect, their alpacas are the cutest thing ever (I feel like we bonded with Twiggy, their most social alpaca), and Jo is literally the nicest person ever. Bike rentals are their side business and they come free with your stay at the Hillsfield. So we rented bikes each day and went out to the nearby wineries with ease, ate at spots they recommended (Hans Herzog Bistro is a must). Our stay in Renwick was superb with almost all thanks to Jo & Steve at the Hillsfield House. When I think of the perfect B&B, the Hillsfield House is it. Thanks for making our honeymoon's last few days perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patosoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Hillsfield House - Jo and Steve took care of all the details, including a ride to dinner in Steve's classic car! The Cottage Room was beautiful and the breakfasts filling. We highly recommend a stay at this gorgeous property!

Room Tip: The Cottage House has a large bed, perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfoblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

After staying for three nights in The Courtyard room we cannot praise the whole experience highly enough. The room itself with the sitting area is extremely comfortable, the breakfasts delicious (especially the croissants and jams) and the hosts incredibly helpful. We used the bikes one day for a wine tour and also went hiking in the Wither Hills which was most enjoyable. The location is perfect as a base for exploring the Marlborough area.

We think Hillsfield House is the standard by which other B&Bs should be judged. They set an extremely high standard, include lots of little extras and make you feel very welcome. Exemplary !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had two fantastic days at this wonderful accommodation in the middle of Marlborough country. Jo and Steve are outstanding hosts - every detail looked after so that our stay was so memorable. They were so willing to help, with suggestions for the best bike routes, where to eat and how to get the most out of our visit. I loved the sprigs of rosemary on our pillows at night! The breakfasts were delicious and the awesome bikes made wine touring a wonderful experience..We will recommend Hillsfield House to anyone travelling in the South Island.
Thank you , Jo and Steve

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A fantastic place to stay, be it for 1 night or 1 week!

The amazing hospitality of Steve & Jo is difficult to beat and the incredible cute guesthouses are just the thing to put you in the right mood for the holiday.

The convenience of cycling around the amazing wine-region with complimentary bikes is also not to be underestimated, and the breakfast is world-class.

We recommend all our friends who go to NZL to stay here if they are passing through this region.

Thanks again!
Alex

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudden911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: $178 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing