We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality, Accommodation and Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I spent one night (wished it could have been longer!) at Hillsfield House enjoying the comfortable hospitality of Jo and Steve, the high quality and thoughtfully decorated Loft room, and the overall relaxing experience of their wonderful B&B. From the time we arrived we were made to feel welcome by our great hosts - even an offer to show up early to use the bicycles for a wine tour prior to our scheduled check in!
The breakfast in the morning was fabulous - fruits, cereals, breads, juices, coffee - more than we could possibly eat (although it was so good we did!). We have stayed in B&B's around the world, and this experience was at the top - 6 stars!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 445 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in November during our visit to New Zealand. When we arrive Jo greeted us immediately with a wonderful smile that made us feel like family. She settled us in to the Loft room and provided some great insight into where to eat and wine tasting for the next day. Luckily for us the next day we had wonderful weather and were able to use the complimentary bikes to do some wine tasting. The winery recommendations from both Jo and Steve were outstanding. After a day of bike riding and wine tasting we visited the Alpaca with Steve. Our stay was outstanding and we would definitely recommend this to anyone who is visiting the Marlborough area. We cannot wait to return to New Zealand and we definitely will be staying with Jo and Steve.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passiontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic experience at Hillsfield House. The accommodations were very well decorated and felt very private. Jo and Steve added a lot of special touches that made our stay memorable such as custom order breakfast brought to our room each morning, homemade cake in the afternoons, free bike rental, and a tour of the grounds which has alpacas and miniature horses. They even included the menus of every restaurant in the area in our room for us. They thought of everything! This was our favorite B&B during our entire trip to NZ. Jo and Steve - thank you for making us feel so welcome! Amy and Jordan

Room Tip: We stayed in the Courtyard room and would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We rented the carriage house, it was clean and beautifully decorated. When we arrived Jo and Steve where wonderful. The stay also includes bicycle rental. We will definitely be staying here again when we come back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I were made to feel truly welcome by Jo and Steve. From the very first warm hug when Jo greeted us, we were looked after. There was no shortage of advice and hints about the region and they were kind enough to lend us the gear we needed for a picnic.

The property itself is placed perfectly amongst many of the boutique wineries and I'd recommend taking up the option of a free loan of the bikes to ride around the area.

Both the property and room reminded us of our time in Provence. We were in the Courtyard room, which was a good size and felt very homely. There is a breakfast table looking out part of the farm where the llamas were kept. Breakfast itself is continental with a healthy selection of fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and spreads.

The four nights we stayed were fantastic - we would definitely want to stay at Hillsfield House on our next trip to the Marlborough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We must echo a previous review of "if your itinerary doesn't allow you to stay here, change your itinerary". Tiny details were seen to throughout our stay including: two temperatures of wine glass in our room, afternoon tea, local toiletries, generous breakfasts, and the inclusive bike hire.

All the reviews are gushingly positive, and Jo and Steve deserve them, they couldn't do enough to help and were so friendly and thoughtful, kicking off our honeymoon with great style.

It was a shame we could only stay for two nights!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilHannah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were spoiled to stay with Jo and Steve for 3 nights on our recent holiday around the South Island. They are truly outstanding hosts, and made us feel so welcome. Their helpfulness started with several emails to help select the right room for us, then Jo sent in advance really helpful tourist information so we could plan our stay. And then a thank you email a few days after our return home! They truly took an interest in us and our travel plans, and made great suggestions for the local area. We loved the cozy room, great breakfasts, and the attention to the smallest details to make our stay so comfortable. We stayed in the Courtyard (downstairs) room which had lovely views over the grounds, a comfortable sofa and small dining table for breakfast. Do borrow the bikes for some leisurely rides around the vineyards and back roads of Renwick! Thank you Jo and Steve, for making us feel so welcome. We hope to see you again soon!
Trish and Rich

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proberts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
640 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.2 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: $175 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After months of building work, the renovations have finally finished and as of 1st January 2017, our beautiful Courtyard Cottage will be open once again to welcome new friends and make lasting memories. Thank you for your patience, everyone. The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. We very much look forward to seeing you. Steve and Jo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing