We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A perfect place to stay when exploring the Marlborough wine country. Really good facilities, a comfortable bed and a great breakfast. Jo was a terrific host with lots of tips on things to do (even before we arrived) and provided us with bicycles for exploring the local vineyards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hillsfield house for 4 nights for our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect! We stayed in the loft and it was gorgeous, the bed was very comfortable and the entire room was lovely, and so peaceful and quiet out in the country. Jo was an amazing host, so friendly, chatty and helpful, even emailing us on our wedding day the day before to wish us the best for our wedding. Breakfast was amazing, and Jo catered to my gluten intolerence offering gluten free toast and cereal, and afternoon tea was even there waiting for us at the end of our days wine tasting. Jo also booked dinner reservations for us, and even offered to drop us off. The bikes came in handy, and Hillsfield House is perfectly located to visit all the wineries in the area. I will be recommending Hillsfield House to everyone, and can't wait to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmisshaley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Hillsfield House for 3 nights during our honeymoon in the South Island. We knew as soon as we drove up the tree-lined driveway that we were going to love this B&B. Our room - the loft room - was decorated beautifully and everything was simply spotless. The decor is how I would like my own house to look but haven't quite managed it yet! What sets this B&B apart from any other we have stayed in was the attention to detail - including sprigs of lavender left on the pillow before bedtime, lovely china and silverwear, homemade jams, croissants and afternoon cakes, locally produced toiletries, fresh towels every day etc - as well as the kindness of the hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble (it was a lovely surprise to be offered a lift to our wine tour in Steve's classic car and allowed my husband and I to have a bottle of wine or two!). Jo is quite simply the perfect host and someone who you feel like you have known for years. The bikes were an added bonus and it was really good fun to cycle around some of the nearby vineyards (the B&B is very centrally located) and at least feel like you were burning off some calories from all those lovely lunches! (Jo's recommendations for restaurants were also spot on). All in all a perfect experience and I would have thought it was impossible to find a better place to stay that this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were recommended Hillsfield House by some friends who knew we were going to be staying in Marlborough for a couple of nights - we're very glad we listened.

From booking from the UK, Jo was fantastic and very helpful. Our booking confirmation came with advice on things to do, places to eat and, of course, wineries to visit. When I had trouble booking a wine tour from abroad she even booked that for us.

On arrival the hospitality and welcome we received was the best provided to us in our trip around New Zealand which is saying something as we were spoilt all trip. The accommodation itself is lovely, the beds very comfortable and it's all very nicely decorated. But the little extras Jo provides make it even more special (coming back from a day's wine tasting to homemade cake in the room to have with coffee was a nice surprise) and the breakfast is excellent.

This friendly B&B was a real find and we were just disappointed we only had 2 nights in the region to enjoy it - if we are ever close to Marlborough again we will definitely head back for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffauk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just got back from our one month of travel throughout NZ. I have to say that we loved all the places we stayed which were chosen based on Trip Advisor reviews. Hillsfield House stands out as one of the most elegant. As I told Jo when we first arrived: "I can just live here"! The bed was super comfortable, the decor was elegant, yet homey, the breakfast served on fine china, delicious and the view outside the window (complete with alpacas) was serene. What more can I say? Jo is the best hostess. We felt pampered with breakfast served in our room. All in all a great place to stay in the Marlborough area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_gogo_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've just arrived home from a long weekend in Marlborough, staying at Hillsfield House. The experience was every bit as good as I hoped it would be, with lovely bonuses like Jo's home baking (waiting for us when we returned from our day's excursions), a pet alpaca who loves a neck rub and ripping good rides to dinner in Steve's modified 1927 Essex (giant Chevy under the hood). Our room at Hillsfield house was gorgeous, breakfasts were delicious and the bikes - provided for no extra cost - took us from vineyard to vineyard at just the right pace.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Right from the start Jo made us feel very special in her home. All of the little touches made our stay that much more enjoyable. From the special china and silverware, to the fresh flowers to having her father drop us off at a festival, Jo made sure our stay was enjoyable. Also being able to step outside and see alpacas, ponies, doves and to walk alongside her plum trees and pick plums which my husband thoroughly enjoyed was simply beautiful. Jo's thoughtful personality and the surroundings of her home made our stay a memorable one, a memory which we will treasure for a lifetime or until we find ourselves on Jo's doorstep for another visit and more memories.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVickers1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: $178 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing