We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. We found the staff very professional yet friendly. We were lucky enough to have a bed and breakfast deal on the Friday night followed by the Dinner, bed, breakfast and hot tubs for the Saturday night. I don't understand the comments about the rooms being "dated" as ours was perfect for our stay. Perhaps the showers are a little old but they are clean and perfectly functional. During our stay the weather was exceptional (perhaps too hot) and a fan in our room would have been nice.
It was great to be able to walk down to the restaurant in the morning to the welcome smell of breakfast already waiting for us. The buffet was a great start for a day of fishing.
The dinner buffet was equally as good and there was alot of food to chose from. From ravioli to 2 roast meats which were served by the chef and ample vegetables and salads. There is a choice of having the buffet or a la carte but I cannot comment on the a la carte but it did read well on the menu.
The setting is peaceful (even tho' it is on a main road) and so central to everything we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear when we have 'got it right'. We are located in a unique part of the country and it is great when our fellow kiwis appreciate what we offer.

Guy Sanders

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    77
    10
    9
See reviews for
19
93
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akaroa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room was clean and spacious but a bit dated. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good water pressure. Unfortunately, smoke drifted in my open window from other guests smoking on their balconies and it was too hot to close all the windows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments - Regretfully, while all our rooms are smokefree, we are not able to stop guests from smoking outdoors,and I am sorry that you were affected by passive smoke.
We do provide ashtrays outside, but unfortunately these are not used all the time either.

Guy Sanders

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room was tired but clean and adequate. Very spacious and all that you need.

However the restaurant was another story......

We arrived about 30 mins before closing. We were told we'd best go for the buffet as there'd be a wait for anything else. A quick look at the buffet showed it to be near whacked out so we decided to order from the menu and accept the wait.

Whilst ordering I BELIEVE I saw a member of staff replenishing the buffet with his bare hands! Awful, so we went to the pub down the road.

On the premise that the staff would be changed before breakfast we decided to risk it. Again there was hardly any food on the breakfast buffet and we had to stand about and wait for chef to do extra items. No glasses for the fruit juice either.

The whole place has the air of being run with the whole attention to cost and little to the customer. Short on food and seemingly short on staff with the proper skills.

Check out was poor. The woman on the desk was grumpy and said it was my fault that she didn't know the card I paid with was a debit card rather than a credit card - apparently I should have told her before she added $2.18 to the bill for using a credit card. I think she should look what she's doing! Another member of our party (we had three rooms) paid for the other two rooms with a credit card - one transaction - and was charged the $2.18 twice; once for each room. Poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - I regret that you had issues with the service in the restaurant - firstly I can assure you that the chefs arranging the buffet are ALWAYS wearing gloves - These are light, thin and clear in colour. Sadly you make a very damaging comment which is totally incorrect.. We a busy tour hotel - and have many groups travelling on coaches. We offer buffet breakfast and dinner for these groups, which we receive very favorable comments about.

As well as the buffet we run both a la carte and bar menus - unfortunately there is a point at which the buffet runs down and we then close it down and switch to our 2 other menu's available. It appears that you struck both this both for breakfast and dinner, and I am very sorry that you did not receive much better service in these areas.

With regards to the surcharge - this was a new procedure which the staff were not familiar with and I am sorry that you had an issue with it. It has now been streamlined, and staff trained to ask what sort of card you are using - sometimes it is very difficult to distinguish between a credit card and debit card.

Guy Sanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Omarama hotels

Banff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent hotel in a quiet area within private grounds, most rooms had balconies, rooms serviced to a high standard, food excellent and served hot, dining room and bar in a separate building, access by covered way and paths, all staff were friendly and courteous, this is a must return to hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms were well equiped and spacious, quiet area, no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Looks like a 4 star hotel but location is to be desired. Hugh bedroom with 3 electric heaters in. 1 in bathroom over door. 1 in bedroom with label stating not in use! Bathroom reasonable size with combined bath/shower. Nice and clean throughout.
TV in room only 19inch LCD flatscreen, gets lost in corner and volume control restricted to 50% volume making it difficult to view and hear whilst in bed.
Bar and Restaurant located in seperate building from rooms. Food reasonable but had to be pre-ordered.
Omarama is a one horse town with only main road running through it. There is a pub but not much more to do in the place. The hotel offers little entertainment except for a LCD TV in the bar area. A pool table would be a start or quiz night in the bar to keep the guests occupied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really this is a motel, where we had to brave the elements to get to and from our room. The cases took forever to arrive (we were up some metal stairs so didn't want to carry). The room was modest, but large with the smallest TV ever. Food ok, but when I made a request for poached eggs at breakfast, the response was "can't you eat scrambled?" rather rudely from the woman wearing the Duty Manager badge! Obviously a totally unreasonable request needed to be met with a curt (to say the least) reply.

Room Tip: Not sure they have any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cburni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

stayed at this hotel as part of an AAT Kings Tour which had originally booked us into the McKenzie Lodge at Twizel. Our room was in below average condition, one of the heaters had a label informing that it was broken and to use the other heater. The bed spread had a large stain and there were two empty cigarette packets on top of the wardrobe. The bathroom vanity had an area of water damaged MDF. The reception staff changed the bedspread when informed of the stain. The duty officer to whom I reported the emptying cigarette packets stated that she was surprised as the housekeeping was generally very good.

Room Tip: Check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.6 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
17.2 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
100 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Gateway Hotel

Property: Heritage Gateway Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Omarama 9412, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing