We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean and really good value”
Review of ASURE Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Sierra Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean and really good value”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Motel has 12 studio units which are clean comfortable and beautifully equipped. Fridge microwave toaster hobb and kettle, it has everything you could want. Lovely views. Quiet, Right next to the gliding club with Hot tubs across the road. The owners are also New Zealand friendly (the best kind) Strongly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierraomarama, Owner at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Was great to host you over the Labour weekend for your gliding trip. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berry, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very comfortable motel room with kitchenette, where I cooked our evening meal. It was a cold windy night and the owner very kindly turned the heater on for us. There was a double bed and one single. The bed was soft and comfortable with an electric blanket. In the morning we had plunger coffee which was a nice surprise. The room cost $120.00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierraomarama, Owner at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Happy to know you enjoyed your stay at ASURE Sierra Motels and happy to accommodate you again if you return to New Zealand for a holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic little motel right across from the Hot Tubs which are also highly recommended we were able to just walk across the road it was perfect - very modern and tidy motel unit and I would highly recommend staying here the price is right and the staff are friendly!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudzqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierraomarama, Owner at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can accommodate you again in the future. Cathy Ferguson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I were on our way to Mt Cook and could not find accommodation in Twizel but found this gem instead, only 20 minutes away. We walked to shops and the local pub for dinner. We had a large studio with bath/shower, spacious rooms. It is great to find a motel like this which provides good quality tea/coffee/hot choc for a change, much appreciated. Quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierraomarama, Owner at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Always great to hear from satisfied customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Large modern studio unit. Fully equipped kitchen including 2 elements. 2 large beds.
Omarama is a small place and choice of eating places is, therefore, limited.
Only stayed for the one night but owners were very welcoming.
Laundry facilities available(chargeable)
Wifi is chargeable whereas in most other motels have found this to be without charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onholidayalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here on our annual motor cycle tour of South Island. Good sized very clean rooms with friendly owners. A good half way stop between Christchurch & Queenstown. Not much to do in Omarama, but the Clay Cliffs are worth a visit, also the outdoor wood fire heated tubs just over the road from motel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Omarama overnight as the halfway point on our trip from Christchurch and Queenstown. It's only 10-20 minutes to see beautiful views of Mt Cook, and for us it was a great place to stay. Our two-bedroom unit was clean, tidy with really nice furniture and full kitchen facilities - ideal for families. There is even plunger coffee, which was a rarity during our NZ holiday. When we arrived I needed to make some urgent phone calls due to a family death and Cathy went out of her way to help us reach them, even offering their private phone line without worry about the cost. I was happy to pay but she only charged me a nominal amount. Not every hotel or motel would do this, and I am very grateful for her compassion, consideration and hospitality. The next morning we needed to do our washing and she happily let us do it after checkout and let us stay in the room until we were finished. Nice people really do make your stay better. We would happily stay here again. Also, the Omarama Hotel/pub up the road is a good place to eat with down-to-earth staff. We recommend the salmon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_LO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierraomarama, Owner at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
So pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at ASURE Sierra at a stressfull time for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.1 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
177 reviews
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.5 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
100 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sierra Motel

Property: ASURE Sierra Motel
Address: Omarama Avenue, State Highway 8, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ASURE Sierra Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at Omarama, on State Highway 8 (Mt Cook - Queenstown Highway), ASURE Sierra Motel offers you accommodation with the peace of a quiet high country setting, with the convenience of village shops and restaurants within walking distance. Fishing tackle shop on site. Cycle friendly for cyclists on new Alps to Ocean cycle trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ASURE Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing