We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omarama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After a long days drive we found Buscot Station Back Packers. Although very dark, finding the sign for going down the 0.5km driveway was no problem. Our room upstairs was large, the bed very comfortable, and we had a bathroom to ourselves. There were only 3 other guests so using the kitchen was no problem but could be if the house/bunkroom was full. It was very well equipped with little extra condiments for you to access. Tony, your host and the owner, is a lovely man and very helpful. He is well travelled so has many stories to share. I would recommend this backpackers as it is "cheap and cheerful"!

Room Tip: Certainly upstairs in the main house. There is a bunkroom over the barn.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolCaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here en route to Mount Cook from the Catlins. We have tried to stick to small BBH hostels as we find that they are more social, comfortable, quiet and clean and we certainly weren't let down at Buscot Station which was all of these things. The accomodation is more like a B & B than a hostel, especially at the price we paid ($55 per night for a double room).

Our room was really spacious and the bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in during our five weeks in New Zealand. The stars at night were also the most prominent I have seen them during our time here, and it was incredibly peaceful and very beautiful. Tony (the owner) is a very sociable, interesting chap and a great host.

The only potential downside is that all rooms in the house seem to share one shower/bath (although there are two toilets). This wasn't an issue when we were there as I don't think it was full.

If we ever come back to New Zealand again I would definately stay here. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

very friendly owner, perfect garden to relax in and walking up the hill gives a fantastic view of the sunset. kitchen was a little awkward and there was only one shower in the main house (excluding the en-suite room). The fresh eggs available to buy in the kitchen was brilliant especially at 40c an egg.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Queenstown. The owner and the other guests were very friendly, and everything was clean, if a bit dated. We had a private bath but the toilet was shared. We opted to eat in a nearby town and did not use the kitchen.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

There were two of us but we were given an enormous room, which was really nice, clean and quiet. There was a great communal atmosphere, more so than anywhere else we stayed in NZ.

But trying to cook in the kitchen at the same time as anyone else was very difficult! Because the hostel is basically just a house, the kitchen is standard size. This would be tricky enough but it's also overflowing with clutter. For one night this was fine but for any more than that it would drive me a bit mad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Oh Wow! The best accomadtion we stayed while in New Zealand. Tony (the owner) was awesome, superfriendly, providing a lot of interesting stories and useful infos for your trip. There are free range vegetables for free to use.

We have a double room in the main house and our windows looked at Southern Alps. So the dawn just amazing. The kitchens are huge, free space for everyone, the common room with piano, tons of books, tv, etc. just feels like or home. Or more like your best granny's house.

If you staying there, don't forget to watch the night sky. Amazing.

Try to be there before dusk, as its not so easy to find the junction at night.

One last thing: they are very cheap.

Room Tip: Try to book the room in the main house, above the kitchen.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We enjoyed our 1 night at Tony's. Sweet guy, very family-oriented atmosphere. like Staying at your Uncle's house in NZ...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
1.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
111 reviews
24.3 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
65 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station

Address: 8 Rapid No 912 SH, Omarama, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Omarama
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing