We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omarama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station
Reviewed March 17, 2012

You are really made to feel welcome here, and virtually share the owner's home if you take one of the rooms in the main house. We had a really nice spacious bedroom overlooking the garden. The facilities are all shared, but were kept spotless. You have your own fridge and storage space in the kitchen and can cook and eat there. You can wander round the garden and farm if you want. The farm used to be run by the owner of Buscot, but his son now runs the farming side.
The owner is very helpful and chatty.

Room Tip: Take food with you; no restaurants or groceries nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed with a friend in April 2010 for 3 nights to go see Mount Cook. We were there around Easter so all hostels at Mt Cook NP were booked or very expensive so we stayed at Buscot Station. It has great reviews in the Lonely Planet and with BBH. Tony, the host and owner loves to tell you about the sheep farm which his son runs and on which the hostel is located. The hostel is kind of in the middle of nowhere so hard to get to if you don´t have a car.
It´s a big house with a few bedrooms so you feel like staying with family. THere is a big living room with a TV and DVD player that´s packed with books. Tony usually plays the keyboard in the afternoons. He also has a friendly dog which welcomes you with a loud bark when you get there.
There are usually fresh eggs which you can get for a few cent and there is free tea and real coffee (non-instant).
One of my favorite places in NZ. Would recommend if you want peace and quiet. It´s popular with older travellers too.
Thanks to Tony for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We spent our New Year's eve here, loved it. Tony was helpful, friendly, as was his staff. He was very informative, and liked talking politics with us. We had a private room, clean, comfortable beds, my daughter fell in love with his dog, I did, too. We all loved his lamb! My partner and our daughter have been on the road for 4 months, this was a wonderful relaxing place to stay, with amazing scenery!! The kitchen was very clean, well-stocked. The bathroom was roomy, very clean. His frontyard was gorgeous, with flowers, a beautiful scene of mountains and valleys, hiking right outside the door--located on a sheep farm, off the main highway, but not next to the sheep--it was quiet. I would highly recommend this hostel! We had a great start of 2011 here!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Buscott Station is a working sheep and cattle station, situated in Mackenzie country, close to Omarama.

On arrival you can’t help but notice the beautiful roses and the huge, well-tended garden as you drive up to the homestead.

The main house is essentially the owner Tony’s home and holds private rooms and smaller shared rooms. He shares his lovely kitchen, dining room, living room and veranda with all travelers, providing guests with a home-stay experience, not just with a warm bed and shower. Tony is really kind, attentive and friendly, and you will feel welcome and well cared for from the moment you enter his home. The charming living room is full of pictures, antiques, books and DVDs.

The dormitory is in a separate building, has 10 or so good quality, single beds all made up, and includes a small bathroom. The spacious room is clean, nicely decorated, and no two beds are the same. I am normally not a fan of big dorm rooms, but this one has such an eclectic and homey flair and is very pleasant to stay in.

If you want a truly personal experience out in the country, choose Tony’s place. He really loves what he does, taking care of his land and sharing his property, and has a genuine interest in his traveling guests. What results from that is great company and outstanding hospitality in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristinaHegele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florent m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank BellaMargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omarama hotels
0.9 mi away
Omarama TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
105 reviews
9 mi away
Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BBH Backpackers Hostel Buscot Station

Address: 8 Rapid No 912 SH, Omarama, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Omarama
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing