We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No quibbles at all”
Review of Murchison Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murchison Motels
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The town centre location is convenient for most restaurants and stores. Our welcome was friendly and helpful. We booked a studio. On the downside, the complex will never win an architectural award and there was too much tarmac and not enough greenery for our liking. But who worries too much about that at the end of a long day? Our unit was modern, spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Well worth paying that bit extra.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank suffolkcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We bowled in here, very late and exhausted from tramping, expecting nothing from this remote town, and asked for the most basic offering. We were blown away to walk into a lovely room and, especially, by the gorgeous bathroom. This place is stylish and has many little touches that make it special (including locally-made toiletries, nice crockery, an abundance of pillows and the facility to cook in if you need to). Reception was extremely friendly as well. This is a great place to base yourself if you are exploring the area or heading to Lewis Pass or the Coast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a wonderful stay, in very clean well appointed motels. Situated close to the town with cafe's and rivers, walks all close by. The people very helpful when wanting to know about Mutchison, places to go and what walks, fishing etc was including some clue to local fishing spots. These motels are comfortable, are of a modern style and at a price that is standard throughout the country

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great big rooms, fantastic water pressure. Pool needs some work, but was too cold to use when we were there anyway.
What did suprise us when we arrived was that the owner knew how long we were staying but did not know which standard of room we had booked, so we had to show our confirmation email !!
We thought that was just a hiccup with the computer, but when we came to check out 2 days later, we again had to produce the email to show that we had paid, as the owner did not know whether we had paid or not - weird.

Just a tip - Murchison is not the place to stay on New Years Eve :-)

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 next to the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Booked to stay at this motel, long ago - based on TripAdvisor and other reviews.
The motel is a decent standard for a motel in New Zealand, room size is good, bathroom/wetroom was more than adequate.
We were a bit disappointed by the information provided at check-in, either about the room or things to do in the local area, but I guess you expect motel owners to spend their time promoting local attractions.
Strangely only "wired" internet access is offered in the rooms. Great if you have a PC/Mac etc, but for tablet or phone users, wired internet access is no use. Please fix this for 2014 !!
As we'd arrived early-ish at the motel, we quite fancied using the swimming pool, but decided not to, as it was pretty obvious that it hadn't been cleaned for quite a while (see photo).
Over all, good motel, but could do better.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms next to the laundry (i.e room 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sid H.

Stayed here for one night. Luxury bedding, large flat screen TV, luxury bathroom, strong powerful shower, large crystal wine glasses,this motel was a real surprise, surpassing many much vaunted accommodation in very well known South island tourist areas, in both comfort, style and price. The pool was there to use but it was winter!!!The place oozes luxury and comfort and I have been telling everybody I know about this place. Fantastic !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were luckily upgraded as other guests stayed longer than expected. This was a real bonus. The units have been upgraded very tastefully and the bathroom was amazing. Great shower. Plenty of space in the bedroom and the lounge. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer at the motel and in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
61 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murchison Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison Motels

Address: 53 Fairfax St., Murchison 7049, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range: $135 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Murchison Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a few steps of Murchison's eclectic selection of pubs, cafes and restaurants. Murchison Motelsis the perfect place to rest for a night or stay for a week. Our new studio units are decorated in clean uncluttered style, with bathrooms to relax in and beds to dream in. Our family units offer fully self-contained comfort for old and young, with full kitchen facilities and generous bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Murchison Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing