We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peace of heaven on earth”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed with Felix at the Lodge for 3 nights over the Christmas period and staying here was undoubtly the highlight of our visit to Australia and New Zealand. The lodge is 5 star but comes with a personal touch which you will not find elsewhere. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive and the whole atmosphere of the place feels more like you're staying with friends. The scenary around the lodge is spectacular and the fishing amazing with knowledgable guides and rivers full of big line breaking wild brown trout. If your a fisherman or just simply want somewhere special to stay this is the place to go. We will cetainly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacsOnTourQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Owen River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2009

There is nothing not to like or rave about when it comes to the Owen River Lodge. My husband and I spent 4 nights and 3 days fishing while there, and it was truly a vacation that we will remember forever.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted by owner Felix and chef/hostess Jude. We could not have felt more welcome. The property is spectacular with a beautiful garden, a lovely hammock (that I didn't even have time to enjoy), benches to sit and enjoy the view, and a view of the Owen River.
The accommodations equal the views in their simple, clean, and comfortable rooms. The beds were so cozy and provided a good night's rest after long days on the river.
The food was delicious and plentiful. It was a good thing we did a lot of walking on the river because I ate every calorie I burned...we had fantastic sandwiches on the river for lunch with fresh made cookies. Then for dinner we enjoyed local lamb, white bait, vegetables from the garden, and delicious desserts.
To top it all off, my husband and I experienced fishing of a lifetime. We caught 17 fish, all over 5 lbs in 3 days. Most of our fish were 7 lbs and above. Our guide, Steve, was incredibly knowledgeable and a joy to spend the days with. For anyone who thinks you can fish in NZ and actually catch something without a guide, good luck! These guys are experts, with eyes like hawks.
I would recommend the Owen River Lodge to anyone looking for a top of the line fishing lodge experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bopsysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Owen River Lodge
South Island New Zealand (Murchison)

Maybe it's the plush comfortable leather chairs or the dream maker King
sized beds or the luxurious en-suites ? Maybe it's the beautiful gardens
(with resident hedge hogs) overlooking the Owen River . Perhaps it's the
rich timbered dining room and bar or the exquisite organic fresh food
accompanied by acclaimed local wines of the Marlborough region and beyond ?
It could be the espresso delivered express to you before you have to think
about it or the fresh juices or free range eggs or Jude's Raspberry Jam ?

It could be the many fantastic Rivers with their Crystal clear water and
large brown trout ? The spectacular and dramatic country side , the
remoteness and real opportunity at back country fly fishing to big un
spoilt Trophy browns ?

The fishing is world class and so are the guides . As for the rest of it ,its
in a class of its own.

Owen River lodge is a five star lodge , but don't expect stuffy and overly
formal. As Felix the Owner/ manager says " you are here to have fun !"

The lodge can take pride in having been awarded Qualmark's Enviro Gold rating ,
being the highest level of environmental accreditation in New Zealand , so
whilst I am there the biggest footprint I am likely to leave is from my
size 13 Simms Guide's boots supplied by the lodge .

The lodge looks after your every need including top shelf gear such as
Simms and Sage .
The food which includes full cooked and continental breakfast ,
gourmet lunches (made fresh and packed for you every morning ) and
sumptuous dinners created from the best local produce is truly superb.

To top all this off , the favourable exchange rates make Owen River Lodge
very good value
for us Australians and even better for our European and North American
friends.

Cant wait to get back

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiirstdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the lodge for three nights, having chanced upon it on the internet. We've stayed in a lot of exclusive lodges, resorts and hotels all around the world and this is the first time we've felt moved to write a review - cedit where it is due, and it was certainly due here!

From the moment we arrived Felix and all his wonderful staff welcomed us like old friends. Over a glass of the region's famed Sav Blanc Felix initiated us into a rare world of magic! No dusty old stuffed game hanging forlornly from the walls here -simply thoughfully designed and beautifully decorated rooms and guest areas displaying a fine style, even down to the Author Boyd's on the walls. It is a credit to Felix's refined taste - he is a rurally urbane gent and a natural born host.

With two days fishing ahead of us Felix fitted us out with all the gear required, even down to the polaroids and sand fly oil. Rods, waders, boots, rain gear, he had the lot and all of it top quality.

Meal times were a true highlight and served with flair and imagination by the lodge's friendly and talented staff - thank you Bronnie, Loise and Jude - I can still taste that whitebait! Much of the produce comes fresh from the lodge's own gardens and you can tell. We met Bronnie poking about in the veggie patch for zuccini, brocolli and beans for that evenings feast. The wine list was varied and well thought out and (unusually for this kind of establishment) very reasonably priced.

The fishing was challenging, especially with our limited experience, but our guide Aaron worked tirelessly to put us amongst the action - what I would give for a pair of eyes like his for spotting fish! The packed luch was stupendous- the best we've ever had at any New Zealand lodge.

Finally the lodge dog, Keelie, was a beatiful, friendly and well-mannered co-host and a welcome susbstitute for our own two labradors waiting patiently at home.

In short - this place is a gem. Stop searching right now and book in. We promise you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed as part of our Honeymoon to go fly fishing as complete novices. If we had caught one fish we would have been happy. We hooked 10+ and landed 5 to 7+lbs. We are "hooked" on fly fishing from now on and will be returning.

Felix, Jude and all at ORL helped us have the time of lives and the fishing guides Craig and Peter were fantastic, and patient.

What a place to relax and have an amazing experience in the most beautiful locations in the world.

Andrew and Lynne Bartleet

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Four days of utterly enjoyable and very comfortable stay at this remarkable place. A beautiful and welcoming sanctuary in the wonderful Owen River valley. Surrounded by mountains and within earshot of the river at the end of the paddock. Great food thanks to the famous Jude of Murchison and her helpers, and a warm welcome from Felix the host and creator of this remarkable property. De luxe cabin accommodation with very comfortable beds, good facilities, incredible mountain views. Everything exceptionally clean and well-maintained. In the main building a splendid shared dining table, additional lounge with TV etc. Fishing is the main purpose of course, but a non-fisherperson could be entirely happy there doing other things: walking, borrowing a mountain bike, sitting around reading, wonderful hot tub, massage. Great country within easy reach – vineyards, national park, mountains, rivers. Felix arranges fishing guides to suit the needs: in our case a lovely guy, Steve, who was happy to instruct us novices and help us catch several decent fish. But the fish are also an excuse to trek up the crystalline rivers and streams of the South Island. As we ate the generous picnic lunch supplied by the lodge in one fishing place on the Wangapeka River, watching the six-pound brown trout that we were after feeding in the pool opposite, we agreed that it had to be the most beautiful spot we had ever visited. The lodge’s fishing equipment all first-rate and Felix and his team so helpful and accommodating. We will be back there as soon as we can. Tjheir website gives a very fair picture of the place.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank garyklina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

My wife and two kids stayed at Owen River Lodge for two nights earlier this month as we travelled around the South Island. Even if you don't fish, this is a fantastic place (although probably more appropriate to couples than families).
Wonderful views, five star accommodation and fantastic food and service. Our every whim was catered for. We wanted to take the kids walking one day and the staff made a great suggestion of a boat ride along Lake Rotoroa followed by a delightful walk through beech forests. They also packed a sumptious lunch - probably the best packed kunch I have ever had (although it would feed a family of six, not four!). Then back to the lodge for a swim in the river and another delightful dinner.
Very sad to leave, but will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Martin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
21.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
240 reviews
10.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
11.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
11.2 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Murchison
Price Range: $490 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing