We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of our honeymoon!!!”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange
1 review
“Best part of our honeymoon!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We traveled throughout the South Island of NZ and one of our stops was Owen River Lodge. Not only were the accommodations great, the food was fantastic, the people that were staying at the lodge were fun and personable but Felix was one of the best hosts I've encountered. He made us feel like we were royalty!! In addition to the great lodging and people, we also caught unbelievable fish! I’m definitely going to try to get back to the Owen River Lodge as soon as I get the chance.
THANKS AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
108
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had stayed at Owen River Lodge several years back and enjoyed it immensely, so had very high expectations for the return visit. We were not disappointed in any way. Our host Felix ensured we slid quickly into relax mode and stayed there. The room is well set up. The bed is firm but comfortable, as I like it. No problems sleeping well. The shower, particularly after a hard day chasing trout, is excellent. Hard to leave, but then dinner calls. Our chef, Ryan, managed a different gourmet meal each of the six evenings we were there. None disappointed, and I am known for my aptitude to enjoy good food and wine. The wine list is quite large enough with an emphasis on quality NZ product. Breakfast each morning was tasty and nourishing enough to get us through to the packed lunch. The homemade muesli was a particular favourite, including ginger and macadamia, although I believe the recipe is variable. Our fishing guide, Aaron, took us to some of the most beautiful streams I have ever seen....and then found fish in them. Fantastic! And he is a very patient man, dealing with anglers who started with very low competence levels! The lodge is superbly located with many fishable waters within quite a short drive.
Thanks, Felix. I hope hope this was just the first return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our second stay at Owen River Lodge was every bit as enjoyable as the first. It is a testament to Felix's management skills that he can operate a lodge that somehow manages to be both completely professional and yet remain welcoming and homely at the same time. A great host who is constantly focused on ensuring guests are looked after. Chef Ryan's meals were just fantastic, he presented 'art on a plate' every night that was as good food as I have had anywhere I have been. Wonderful accomodation in a magnificent landscape and Aaron guided us well to find many fish - some of which we managed to get into the net in spite of our limited ability. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a five star fishing lodge experience or alternatively if you are just looking for a quiet break.
'Craig from Perth'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Felix has found his own paradise and I was privileged to share it one weekend in April. The surroundings are idyllic and the perfect location for a healing weekend run by Casting for Recovery. Felix and his partner were the perfect hosts, unobtrusive , but always ready to assist. The food was superb much of it home grown and would better many 5 star restaurants in the country.
The perfect place to fish and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Thank you Felix for an amazing stay at your wonderful Lodge! From the moment we arrived you made us all feel so at home and cared for. The meals were fabulous, rooms extremely comfortable, and the surroundings idyllic. It was hard to leave! Thank you for a most memorable stay and for being part of the healing journey for us Casting for Recovery Ladies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have fished at ORL for a couple of years and the experience is absolutely first class. Felix is the consummate host, the rest of the team is exceptional and the food is amazing - really amazing. Plus the wine list is a cracker as well. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and practical - everything has been thought of.

As far as the fishing goes there is little more you can say but world beating. And the guides are off the charts as well - my guide Pete was amazing in his patience, persistence and his phenomenal ability to spot fish. Not a single day on skunking - which is quite an effort with my erratic casting.

As mentioned in the title - just imagine your best day of fishing ever - and do it 6 days in a row.... Groundhog Day ain't such a bad thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My fourth stay at Owen River Lodge-well that's a review in itself, almost no more needs to be said.

The lodge is as elegant as ever, Autumnal colors, the effervescent Owen River and dramatic landscapes frame this luxurious gem beautifully.

After 3 intense months at work back in Melbourne my 6 day stay was just what I needed, rest and relaxation ? Well I should say relaxing when back at the lodge, the attention to detail, the caring the superb cuisine , the extensive wine list , the warmth and humor ....oh it is a joy staying here !

On the Rivers however it would be inaccurate to say that it is relaxing. Heart pounding is more like it. Spotting large trout in crystal clear water knowing full well that failure or success is a 1/3 of a fly line away , a 15 foot leader and a miniscule fly imitating the menu of the day. You live and die by your stealth , accuracy and nerve. Some fantastic fish came to hand and quickly released.

The Rivers at this time of the year (April) can be low and clear making spotting possible in pretty much all conditions. The weather on this trip was mild with the occasional hatch of little brown and blue duns bringing some monster browns to the surface. (Tip) The Rivers were almost exclusive to us.(Tip 2) there are so many glorious rivers a very short drive away. Your expert guide will consider all factors such as flow, weather (many micro climates) and most importantly trout activity and will take you to rivers that offer the best fishing conditions and opportunities.

Back at the lodge of an evening your favorite drink emerges before you have even thought about it and the pre dinner canapés' are a delight. Other guests gather and fishing stories are exchanged. The agony and the ecstasies of the day are relived vividly and in typical fly-fishing detail.

Michael a returning ORL guest is in his 70s. A 7.5 pounder , a 6 pounder few 4.5 pounders were his efforts for the day. Well fished and expertly guided. A couple from Melbourne, its only their second foray into Fly Fishing , they each caught almost identical 5 pounders amongst many opportunities. What an amazing effort.

Conversation is soon transported to the elegant dining room (views to die for) by the announcement that dinner is served. White bait fritters accompanied by a subtle aioli and the chefs own salsa were divine. In fact the fritters were so good, so beautifully presented that our main had to be delayed as the guests pleaded for a second helping (which was prepared and cooked from scratch). The Pork Belly main was sublime. All the flavor, richness and contrast of textures but some how delicate and subtle.

Desert, well I am not a desert aficionado and happily settled for the chefs non dairy treats he especially prepared for me, but I could not help but be a little envious of the mini works of art that the other guests enjoyed. Elegant, luxurious but above all seductive.

Each night the cuisine exceeded expectations. In fact , Owen River Lodge, the superb accommodation, the fishing and Felix all exceeded expectation!

Thanks for a fantastic stay Felix and see you next season.

Max

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiirstdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
21.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing