We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the wilderness”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Luxury in the wilderness”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have had the privilege of recently spending the most wonderful weekend with a group of fellow breast cancer survivors, run under the Casting for Recovery umbrella. The lodge was the perfect venue from the moment of arrival on Friday until heading back to reality on Sunday! Felix and his team were the most wonderful hosts. The food was gourmet delicious, the rooms beautifully appointed and the environment one of pure delight. The fun, professional group of fishing guides could not have been more attentive and helpful in teaching a group of pretty novice fisher-women! I would highly recommend the Owen River Lodge to all who are searching for a marvelous weekend of fishing and/or relaxation. Well done - simply terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222Jen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
108
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for about 5 days in March and was impressed from start to finish. Being more used to roughing it a bit when fishing, the experience of packed gourmet lunch, breakfast cooked to order with fresh local eggs, stylish, comfortable lodgings and dinner... well, I'll get to dinner later. Owen River Lodge does it all very very well.

While Felix and his crew aren't exactly responsible for the amazing trout water, countryside and consistently large fish in the region, well done for locating the lodge right in the middle of some really beautiful spots.

The lodge is very relaxed, very well presented and the service here is 100% - everything is looked after, nothing is a problem, everyone is determined to relax and enjoy. The atmosphere is upon you when you arrive and it is hard to remain worried by the outside world. The guides are great and the fish are healthy and great fun.

The food served here is really almost beyond description (in a good way!). Local produce cooked by a chef who is obviously very capable and experienced, and it all tastes amazing, presented beautifully at the table by the window overlooking the river, and washed down with some very good NZ wine. Really very classy stuff.

Will look forward to returning - a very memorable and special trip.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have recently spent the weekend with the Casting for Recovery ladies who had been affected by Breast Cancerat this wonderful Lodge with it's beautifully landscaped native garden. Ten ladies stayed as a Group and we had an unforgettable experience being pampered by the staff at the Lodge. The food was delicious and so beautifully presented. The huge vegetable garden supplied the vegetables and the fact that sustainability and the Environment were priorities appealed to my way of living. To have recycling containers in our very comfortable shared twin room was terrific. Home cooked biscuits to snack on and such comfortable beds and pillows. Felix and his partner were the perfect hosts and every effort had been made to make our stay amazing. An experience of a lifetime and all based on the magnicent Owen River

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethP546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This venue was amazing. The character,feel and hospitality were second to none. The rooms were immaculate and roomy and the food masterclass plus plus. I dont think I have ever had my needs papmered to quite so much and there was always a friendly face when needed. Felix and staff made you feel as if it was as much their pleasure as ours to be there.The setting is very soothing with the gentle sound of the river running through and there appeared to be many attractions (apart from the fishing) in the area but the stay was too short to experience. You would never regret adding this wonderful place to your itinerary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are planning a fishing trip to New Zealand, the Owen River Lodge is a must. For a long time, I have planned to visit the beautiful country of New Zealand. My son and I love to fly fish and did our homework before traveling to New Zealand in the last two weeks March, 2013; the Owen River Lodge was recommended to us for an excellent fishing venue. We traveled/fished the South Island for two weeks and purposely left the last week for the Owen River Lodge. Our stay at the Lodge was perfect; Felix and all the Lodge staff made us feel at home, accommodations were picture-perfect overlooking the Owen River, dinning (chef selections and socialization with other guests) was wonderful. Our fly fishing guide (Paul) is a professional. On the first day he listened; because of physical limitations (my bad knees) he selected fishing locations that were accommodating to my needs. And at locations, he made sure there were no difficulties crossing rivers. Most importantly, Paul put us on big brown trout and very effectively taught us new fishing techniques necessary for catching the feisty New Zealand brown trout. The Owen River Lodge gave us a perfect New Zealand fishing experience. Both of us have gone back to the USA, my son back to North Carolina and I to Virginia, with photographs of big brown trout caught in the Owens River region and thankful to Felix, the Owen River Lodge staff and Paul for our bucket full of memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyP844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have just spent 6 nights at Owen River Lodge. I went there with high hopes & my experience exceeded my wildest expectations. The accommodation was first class with service to match. Felix's hospitality was fantastic, I can't speak highly enough. The guests are the centre of attention at all times & all the staff make the stay at the lodge a trip to remember.
the fishing was out of this world, so many quality waters within 1 hour of the lodge & the guides were sensational. I was there at Easter & left it late to book a guide on Easter Saturday so Felix personally took me out for a day out of his own good will.
The food was out of this world, I requested vegetarian meals & was catered for perfectly. Ryan the head chef is world class & it was wonderful to sit down to such fine dining at the end of a great days fishing.
If you get the chance, do yourself a favour & head to Owen river for a visit, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 981JasonK981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From setting the first foot inside the Owen River Lodge the feeling of warmth and welcome felt like being wrapped in a cuddly rug. Every comfort was catered for. Felix and Nicky were unobtrusive but there anticipating every need. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and exquisite meals were a highlight. I would heartily recommend the lodge to anyone wants an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
21.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing