We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible meal!”

The Cow Shed Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Murchison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Cow Shed Restaurant is currently closed for renovation! Re-opening in the Spring
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible meal!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The owner is an awesome cook, the place is very cozy and the food was just delicious! Certainly the best place to eat in Murchison!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank calendulaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing high quality delicious food at affordable prices!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

And the service was awesome too! Thanks Phil & Ali for giving us such a lovely evening, don't change a thing :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good-not what you would expect!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were encouraged to book at by the Murchison Motels owner and got the last table that night. We are so glad we did. It feels like walking into someones sitting room but we quickly settled beside the friendly groups of tourists and locals.
The food was delicious and generous, lovely enthusiastic service. Bring your own wine.
The choices were seasonal and not too many which is great. There were 4 of us and every meal was lovely.
Well done the cow shed on 18 January, I would recommend this as somewhere refreshingly different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is run by a middle age couple, with wife as cook and hubs and front of house. The ambience of the dinning room although small is wonderful. The food beautifully presented- and just yummy. Menue well thought out and covers most people . Would definitely recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprise in Murchison”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We happened upon The Cowshed Restaurant in Murchison on an unplanned overnight stay on our way back to Christchurch from Nelson while on a road trip holiday from Australia.
What a pleasant surprise ... the meals were filling, well presented & tasty. The personal service was appreciated as was the welcome by the host. A great alternative to the anticipated pub meal we thought was our only option in Murchison. Best wishes to all @ The Cowshed Restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed Restaurant also viewed

Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Cow Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing