We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Mataki Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mataki Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Self contained and clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had five adults in two rooms. It was affordable and had a beautiful veiw. There was also plenty of spacious car parks, which was really great when travelling

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Mataki Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked three nights at Mataki and not disappointed. Exceptionally clean self contained unit with a full kitchen and range of equipment. Very comfortable bed, plenty of space and the owners were very helpful. Had problems with Wifi but that was sorted out during our stay. We loved Murchison, which many people overlook. An excellent place to stay and very good rates.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had one night here while in the area for work.
I found the lady to be not very friendly and not overly helpful. Perhaps English was her second language, either that or she was mumbling and uninterested.
The room was small, bed was okay and I slept really well. Good shower, clean room. No wifi picked up in the vicinity of room 7.
From here it's a short 7 minute walk to the Hampden hotel bar. There is a fire station across the road, it would be noisy if the siren went off but they don't get called out too much.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took a break for a night travelling from south and then return from north and was an more than suitable for a stop over for a mid way break. Units are small and compact but has all the facilities one needs and is handy to the shopping precinct. Was obviously quite popular as it was almost fully booked for both nights of our stay which was approximately a week apart. Had pre booked a couple of months in advance and had to pay full cost at the time. Only downfall with this is that they have a "no refund policy" should one have to cancel should anything untoward occur.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

this arrogant motellier onsold our 2 day booking even after credit card supplied.
would suggest be carefull as this motel is not a member of the motel assn,
and you will have no comeback.
motellier self rates as 4 star.
suggest you book elswhere

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We booked a small room for just the two of us and this is maybe where we went wrong. The room was tiny as was the en suite. It all looked as though it had not been refurbished for many, many years. There was no sink for washing up, just a plastic bowl. The free wifi was non existant unless I took the owners advice and sat outside reception with my laptop. This was the worst accommodation we came across on our tour. On the plus side, it was quietly located, yet an easy walk to the small town

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest room!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here as a stop-off between Motueka and Christchurch, travelling with our 3 month old son. Having travelled up to Motueka via Kaikoura and Blenheim, we wanted to return through the Kahurangi national park and the beautiful Lewis Pass. We'd heard bad things about Springs Junction and Maruia Springs, so chose Murchison as our half-way point. It's a small town, but beautifully located amongst forested hills. We wanted somewhere clean and inexpensive, and this is exactly what we got with Mataki Motel. We had a standard unit, with a double bed, a clean en-suite bathroom and a great shower. The room wasn't palatial by any means, but served its purpose well.

What particularly struck me were the little things - such as the bucket of water and sponge/squeegee in the carpark for a much needed cleaning of our car windscreen. Simple, low-cost, but useful for guests, and showing a customer-oriented attitude lacking from many - generally larger - hotels/motels. We were unable to connect to the free WiFi - but that may have been a fault with our hardware - and had we alerted reception no doubt they would have tried to resolve the issue.

All in all, a very nice place to stay, with excellent value and customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mataki Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mataki Motel

Address: 34 Hotham Street | P.O. Box 54 Murchison, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mataki Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mataki Motel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. 16 self-contained units: • 12 units sleep 1-3 • 4 family units sleep 1-6 • All non-smoking units • Serviced daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mataki Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing