We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on an awful afternoon, the rain had been persistent for much of the afternoon. It was great to be able to stay at a friendly, well resourced motel. It was a shame the weather stopped us from visiting the animals-that will have to wait for another time. A very good place to stay in a motel with a lovely setting.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our property - we look forward to having you stay again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    34
    19
    18
    19
See reviews for
50
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stopped over for a night after exploring Nelson Lakes area and returning to Christchurch. The establishment is run by very friendly and welcoming owners and is very well maintained. The kids enjoyed visiting the farm animals.

We lived in a one bedroom motel unit. The facilities were decent and clean with the exception of a hint of moist smell - this might be due to genrally wet weather. The rooms were adequately equipped. We did not get to see much of the town itself but I suppose it will be a great spot to explore the region which ha a lot to offer in terms of scenic beauty and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stopped in late on the 2nd Jan.
Lyn & Brent were wonderful hosts.
I had just suffered 2 days of travelling with a very sore back, tweaked in Wellington.
Lyn & Brent offered a spa suite so that I may have a bath in the hope it may help.
Sadly it did not but the accommodations were fantastic. Two rooms; 1 x king and 2 x singles.
We found the whole experience to be very pleasant and the hosts lovely.

Room Tip: Family rooms/suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spok3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we remember you and your sore back and especially the smile on your face the next day after a good night. See you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We camped in camper trailer for 1 night on 27/12/2013. The camp was fairly full but sites are well spread out so privacy can be maintained. The kitchen ran out of hot water by 7pm & you had to boil a few jugs of water to be able to do dishes. Same with the hot water in the ladies sinks in the bathroom - another jug of boiled water needed. Ladies showers were hot though - eventually!You are meant to get 5 minutes by inserting a 50cent coin,but by the time the hot water came through there was only about 2 mins left . Hardly long enough time to wash hair as well! We would not come back around peak holiday time. The "squillions" of ducks are a real nuscience defacating all over the place & we would not be tempted back because of this - very unhygienic with children running around barefoot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped on a powered site for 2 nights. It's a lovely laid out park with very clean amenities and friendly owners. We were given a very helpful map of all the walking tracks in Murchison, which was very helpful and we choose a couple to do, one being the Skyline walk which is quite a steep hill and looks out all over the valley/town, quite spectacular and well worth the climb! Remember to take your camera to capture the stunning scenery. The campsite has many animals and we were amused to see a wallaby and several ostriches, along with sheep and deer. The resident ducks will no doubt pay you a visit and they are very comical. Well worth coming here and this campsite is very charming. Would definitely recommend a stay here and would love to come back sometime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review of our Park and of Murchison! Both are great places to spend some time and we look forward to hosting you again one day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

When checking in at the reception I showed my Kiwi card for the 10% discount. The man behind the counter said it was 36 dollar minus the discount, so 32 dollar. Nice price. Then a lady walked in who was clearly in the lead. She said the kiwi members started with a different price, 38 dollar. Then I got my 10% discount, which lead to 35 dollar. Hmmm, a higher starting price and 3,8 dollar discount rounded down to 3 dollar. So in the end I pay almost the price as if I had no Kiwi pass.

I feel a bit screwed. But its my vacation, so we'll let it go. I just wanted to share this with other travellers so you know.

For the rest the camping was not too bad. However you had to pay for the showers, which we have seen more at Kiwi campings.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank legrand78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for your thoughts and I do apologise for any confusion at your check in, which I remember as we were just activating a new Eftpos machine as well. It would've been helpful if you had mentioned this as you were leaving, as at that point you were telling me our place was one of the nicest in your trip around New Zealnd, which we always love to hear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After showing visiting sister and bro-in-law from USA ,, .around hole South Island and Stewart Island, we're returning home to Picton and decided on stopping at Murchison...stayed here in 2bdrm unit in gorgeous setting, great bonus of unique animals just outside the window, beaut roses, and welcoming hosts...could have enjoyed more time there!

Room Tip: Have all levels, for wide range of budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review of our Park! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
13.6 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Property: Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing