We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural bliss! Best accommodation in NZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful rural setting and only a 5 min walk to town! Superb facilities and excellent hospitality - clean and green. A+++.

Quiet, peaceful setting with other visitors also extremely friendly.

I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiCamper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much, we always love to hear from people such as yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just love it!!! We stopped by twice 10 days apart to break the journey from south of Christchurch to Marahau (Abel Tasman) and back and it was the highlight of the trips! We slept both nights in one of the basic 5 cabins, no. 5 is the best it's cosy but not too small and simple but not depressive! It has a bunk bed with double bed at the bottom and a nice deck outside with picnic table and umbrella that gets the evening sun where you can chill after a long drive!! Good value for money! Also is just beside the toilets. The basic cabins are all in the same building with a kitchen (great wooden kitchen!) and 2 shower rooms with toilets (new and clean like a house bathroom, not like public facilities!) that are just for the cabins guests (so no sharing with the rest of the campground!). The rest of the campground is very nice! Great gardens, nice facilities, the bigger cabins look very flashy and the tent sites are at the back under nice big trees and close to all of the animals!! I just LOVE all those animals (emus, merino sheep, a deer, a horse, a pig, ducks, chickens, a wallaby.....forgot anybody?) and feeding time is very fun and you can feed and pet them!!!!They are all pets so they are quite cheeky!! If you have children they will just love it!!! The child in me can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Love it! What a great review of your stay with us - thank you so much, and we look forward to having you back to stay again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been staying at the Kiwi Park for over 10 years. My buddies and I come to Murchison to fish and there's no better place to stay while in town. Lynn and Brent do a great job keeping the place looking great. The rooms we stay in are large and very clean. Thanks to both of them for making this one of my favorite places on earth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks Jim - I don't think reviews get much better than this one! We also love having you guys stay with us each year - so thank you and see you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We camped one night with a tent in the Kiwi Park Campground. Staff was very friendly and the whole campground is super clean and felt very peaceful. There are a lot of animals around and even some friendly ducks. Kitchen was very clean and even has a TV. Only thing we missed it free wifi which we think should be standard these days (but it's missing in almost all campgrounds). Anyway, if you are looking for a campground around the area we only can recommend Kiwi Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks a lot for your great comments - we appreciate them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked the self contained unit for one night (max. 3 People). The service was very good and the room nice. But this unit was pretty old and maybe not for everyone (older smell and some spiders in the room). I am sure the motel units are more modern and therefore I would recommend this motel. The price is very good and it is nice and quiet out there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review!
PS We caught that spider and rehomed him

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can highly recommend Kiwi Park due to their great assistance. As a single foreign woman discovering the South Island on my own, I was looking for an accommodation very late in the evening. After calling them after 10 pm, I had so much luck that the friendly staff just waited for my late arrival in order that I can spend I nice and safe night at their Motel. Thanks a lot again for your help and the nice conversation we had!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks so much for the lovely review, we were happy to help you out that night as it was pretty late.
We hope the rest of your travels went well. Thanks again - Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We followed other people reviews and booked this motel for one night. The surrounding was really nice with lots of flowers but the room was iffy, had this typical smell of unused rooms, which did not go away even with all windows opened. In some spots there were spider webs. Everything in room looked very out of date. At least the kitchen was well equipped and functional, so was the bathroom. A quick look at other rooms in the park revealed that one could find modern rooms and that this one saw better days. We know that we booked a relatively cheap room in that park, but this one was disappointing compared to other places in which for more or less the same price we got nicer rooms. The park was hardly busy hence we do not understand why no one offered us to see other rooms and make our decisions on the spot. The excellent service mentioned by others somehow had not reached us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thanks for your review. We have the full range of accommodation here, so something for every budget. The Self Contained unit you chose is just like a Motel although older and it is well enjoyed by many who want the full facilities but not necessary Motel prices. Although I wasn't here when you checked in our Reception is open until 9pm every night so the option to call in and look at another unit was always there. We did a thorough check of this unit this morning and can assure you no cobwebs were found. This unit is very popular so no chance of an unused smell.
Hope you are enjoying your Christmas - Lynn and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.2 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
59 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing