We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and unkept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old and unkept”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It was the worst that we stayed in in nz. The cabin we stayed in was old. The inside doors wouldn't stay closed and the bathroom window was broken so bugs could get all through the house. The grounds and animals were nice but the playground looked unsafe.
Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
On our recent Qualmark assessment, none of the above supposed 'problems' were found, so we are left wondering where in fact this guest stayed?
Happy to report we received a 4 star plus grading and Qualmark Enviro Silver Award once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    21
    18
    19
See reviews for
50
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friends and I used the Kiwi Park as our base between fishing trips on the South Island. The facilities were well-maintained (tidy lawns and gardens, clean bathrooms, clean communal kitchen), and the surroundings are beautiful (big mountain looming above). Over the course of our time at Kiwi Park, we got to know the owners, the Winter family, pretty well and found them to be funny and helpful folks.

The other people staying at Kiwi Park were a mix of Kiwis on holiday, international fly fishermen, and road-bikers. We met some great people there, always felt that our things were safe, and were always able to relax while just hanging around.

It is an easy walk into town from Kiwi Park, but is nice and quiet at the park. The Winters have a great collection of animals (sheep, emus, deer, dogs, geese), and the kids we saw at Kiwi Park had a great time petting all the animals.

A++++

Room Tip: Though many people choose to set up tents or sleep in their caravans, Kiwi Park has some great motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks so much James - come and see us again sometime :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A family park should be adjusted to families and as such, I have expected for more. The playground facilites were poor, old, broken and unsafe. I had to ask my children not to play there.The movies CD hire was the most expensive I have ever encountered in NZ - $8 per night. In many places the CD's are borrowed for free. The room wasn't very clean. In general it felt like the owners are tired from running this place.
The animals feeding session was nice.
We slept in a specious suite family motel room which was comfortable but as mentioned, not so clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAYSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, however some points you mention are totally unsubstantiated. On our recent Qualmark assessment we spent some time reviewing the playground and I mentioned your review. The assessor said there was nothing unsafe about our playground and it was perfectly functional and safe. Our DVD hire is $6 for one $10 for two, we don't hire CD's. Our rooms are always meticulously clean, and if you did have a problem, a mention at reception and clarification would've been the appropriate action at time of stay.
We own our business and have done for 5.5 years, we LOVE it, as most others do also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Excellent facilities, lovely location, very friendly people. But do be aware that you WILL be awakened bright and early by the locally resident ducks...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Our Cayuga duck family do like to visit campervans but I've noticed if no food comes from the van they do move onto the next one in hopeful anticipation :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending an extended amount of time at the Murchison Kiwi Park.
It is purely a family run business by some very friendly people. Lynn, who works the reception desk is always super pleasant to see. She is a great conversationalist and always full of life. Brent is the workingman of the place and is in charge of the constant maintenance process. He will even give you a demonstration of how to shear sheep for their wool. This is a New Zealand tradition that the kids will love and a learning experience for anyone with a curious mind. The bathrooms and kitchen facilities are always clean and with room for all. There is also a small but nice playground for the kids. I really have nothing bad to say about the Murchison Kiwi Park and I believe you all will feel the same after a stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for the great review! The space, peacefulness and access to the Animal Park are a real draw card of our business and we always love to hear (usually face to face) what a great stay people have and the number of repeat customers never ceases to amaze us.
Many thanks again and I'm sure we will see you again one day! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the self-contained units and have to say that this was the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in. The accommodation is really old and definitely needs renovation. The wallpaper came from the walls and the carpet was pretty dirty. The very small bathroom was full of insects and moscitos. Unfortunately, the hosts could not help us to move to another place although we complained several times. Besides, the park is nice with a little animal farm. Nevertheless, the daily animal show which is mentioned on the website (our son was already looking forward to it) did not take place while we stayed in the park. All in all, we cannot recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately it was a case of the wrong style of accommodation chosen by this couple, and we were unable to upgrade them due to having no vacancies. We do apologise there was no farm show as one of our European guests had a medical emergency and needed transported to Hospital in Nelson and their wife didn't have a licence to drive and NZ and couldn't speak English, so things were abit pressurized over that period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The people here were so friendly, I managed to mess up my booking at turned up on the wrong date, but they were very accommodating and helped me to sort it all out, we stayed in one of the self contained cabins, everything we could need... they even gave me and my partner a life to the bus in the morning :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrianne0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Absolutely no problem to help you out of your tight spot. We treat others as we would like to be treated ourselves if in a similar position in a foreign country. We were happy to help and so glad you enjoyed your stay! Lynn and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Property: Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing