We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you are travelling north from Christchurch to Nelson, stopping at The Tavern is a must, Apart from the excellent fly fishing locally, the Tavern is a haven for the weary traveller. Kim and John are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The food is not to be missed either, a fantastic mix of Kiwi and Chineese cuisine. The friendly atmosphere will make you feel right at home and wonder why all travel inns cannot be like this?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

2012 Waitiangi weekend was a "need to get away" time. But where to go to fish and blob out. Well Owen River Tavern and Motels was just the place. Kim Sui welcomed us and directed us to our motel. She was certainly very engaging via her emails. The king-sized bed dominated the room but it was a verycomfortable one. Perhaps the dominating feature of our motel was its cleanliness. Microwave, crockery and cutlery all there but the idea was to take prepared meals for heating or buy them from the bar or restraunt at the tavern.
Fishing? Well it was difficult to find a fish but there is something very therapeutic about being out in the fresh air and standing in a stream casting your line. This is sandfly territory folks so do remember the repellant. The bush and hills around you are just grand. Beautiful New Zealand at its best.
We decided to buy a meal and again Kim graciously welcomed us. We enjoyed an excellent Chinese meal, reasonably priced and delicious.
We felt initially that the price of the motel was a bit high, but hey market forces prevail and it certainly was in keeping with other accommodation places in the Owen River vacinity. In the end we felt we got value for money all round.
Would we go again? Yes but a lot earlier in the season as we might get to see a trout!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykeeBudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stay a little week, arriving without booking for flyfishing.
good chineese an NZ meals.
kim and his wife are so friendly and alaways looking at your confort.
We have a very good memory at this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, West Coast
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2009

On a very tiring trip from Nelson stopped in at the Owen River Tavern and Motels to have a Christmasm meal with a friend. Host was fantastic, very friendly. Wide range of food on the menu at a reasonable price and recommend the Chinese. Fantastic. A+ to anyone wanting a traditional Chinese meal. Leeanne Sneddon from Cobden, Greymouth.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry Horse
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is a 'must stop' on your way from the West Coast to Nelson. Beautiful views of the Buller River and Mount Owen. The food is superb, with John Sui cooking the Chinese dishes and Kim Sui cooking the New Zealand fare. These two will make you very welcome and their motel units are very comfortable too

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
12.2 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Tavern & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Tavern & Motels

Property: Owen River Tavern & Motels
Address: Kawatir Murchison Highway | State highway 6, Murchison, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Owen River Tavern & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing