We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly professionalism and exceptional fishing”
Review of River Haven Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Haven Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Friendly professionalism and exceptional fishing”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fishing with Scott is always a joy, because from the moment you first meet him you are fishing with a friend, and because of his uncanny ability to find fish even in difficult conditions. Scott and his team are superb guides, and I learn so much being guided by these experts. Local knowledge is critical to fishing success, especially in New Zealand, and using the New Haven team maximises the fishing experience and gives opportunities to fish pristine water you would never discover otherwise. I have lodged and fished with Scotty for a number of years now, and it is one of the highlights of my fishing calendar because I know I am going to have a wonderful holiday and be challenged with great fishing. The accommodation at Haven Lodge is excellent and well set up for both fisherman and wives! Leya and Scotty are great hosts, and the food and wine is always very good. Very hard to go past this as a fishing destination in the South Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I cannot recommend a better fly fishing guide than Scott Murray. Scotty's ability to locate and spot fish is absolutely amazing. My wife was guided to a brown trout so BIG ... that when you turn the photo sideways ... the trout looks like its holding her! This is that kind of trip that you will find yourself day dreaming about all the time. Leya and Scotty are wonderful hosts and I'm sure you will enjoy the warm hospitality of the lodge. Life is short ... go fish with Scotty ... you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have fished all over both islands in New Zealand for over a dozen years and have sent numbers of clients to experience the thrill of stalking trophy trout in their crystalline streams. No where in New Zealand can finer, more patient and experienced, expert guides be found than Scotty Murray and his associates at River Haven. In New Zealand, fishing success is driven more by your guide than any fishery in the world. The “right” guide uses his local knowledge and access to get you on the “right” stretch of water at the best possible time, regardless of conditions. Scotty and his group definitely have the “right” stuff.

The accommodations and ambiance of River Haven’s cabins provide a comfortable and welcoming foundation for a wonderful New Zealand fly fishing experience. The overall experience provided at River Haven by Leya and Scotty Murray is as good as it gets in NZ.

Don Muelrath

Fly Fishing Adventures

www.flyfishingadventures.org

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMuelrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Come to River Haven if you want to catch fish!! This place is perfect and perfectly laid out for genuine fisherman who are interested in fly-fishing for Brown Trout. Scott is one of the best guides you will ever get. He is able to not just see the fish and/or pick where they will be but like any good guide, he works out how good you are and positions you accordingly. A trip with him is like attending a university refresher course in trout fishing.

The accommodation is also excellent. His wife, Leya, runs the accommodation. The food is good, and the service is very good . You learn a lot with Scott and you have a very comfortable time when you are not fishing. I will be going back probably on an annual basis, as long as I can crawl in and out of rivers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went to River Haven lodge already two times and everything was perfect. I'm crazy about flyfishing and this lodge is really the place to be for trout bums like me !
When you organize a trip like this from europe you have to be sure to find the right place to stay and fish, I found there more than just a high quality lodge but friends and I feel now like at home with Leya and Scotty.
The cabins are really confortable, the guiding just fantastic and the food and wines (and this is important for french like us !) very good.
For flyfishermen a trip of a lifetime waits for you here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have travelled from London to fish with Scott Murray every year for the last 14 years, and quite often twice a year. Scott always finds good fishing even in the most unpromising conditions. He just wants you to catch fish and enjoy yourself. He is great with beginners as well as more experienced anglers.
Scott's guiding team reflect his enthusiasm and skill. Every Lodge claims to have the best guiding team, but I have never experienced better than Riverhaven offers.
Staying at Riverhaven is always a pleasure. The cabins are luxurious, the food great and the welcome from Leya Murray is warm and solicitous. What's not to like?
I have been fortunate to have flyfished in many great destinations in the world, and have settled on brown trout in the Murchison area of New Zealand as the pinnacle of flyfishing experience. I have enjoyed every trip with Scott, catching fish from 2 to 16lbs. It's just great. I am already looking forward to my next trip.
John Part, London

Room Tip: All the cabins are good. Mangles has the best wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I spent 9 days of best pure trout fishing ever. I have fished in many places around the world but nothing can compare to the entire RIVER HAVEN LODGE experience from the fishing to the food & accommodation . Scotty & Leya Murray run a great show . GO THERE YOU WONT WANT TO LEAVE !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
24.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Haven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Lodge

Property: River Haven Lodge
Address: Rd 3 | Longford, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Specialty Fly Fishing Lodge, with "All Inclusive" rates to include:* Well-appointed river-front log cabins with every convenience from flat screen TV to refrigerators.. (For one or two guests)* All Meals; Full breakfast in the Lodge, picnic lunch on the river, bar snacks upon returning, and three course dinner in the lodge. Now Included, Complimentary house wine and beer! Don't forget to ask about our Specials!Airport Transfers Available Upon RequestBrilliant Team of Guides led by Scott "The Trout" Murray! Guiding includes:* All transfers to/from rivers* Picnic lunch* Hand-tied flies to match what the fishery calls for..* Any gear required: Waders, gravel guards, boots, rods/reels, rain jackets ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing