We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
51
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown trout fly fisherman new zealand feeding fish dry fly log cabins are wonderful hosts the main lodge his knowledge top class other guests scott surrey pounds success skills world
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 53 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I cannot recommend a better fly fishing guide than Scott Murray. Scotty's ability to locate and spot fish is absolutely amazing. My wife was guided to a brown trout so BIG ... that when you turn the photo sideways ... the trout looks like its holding her! This is that kind of trip that you will find yourself day dreaming about all the time. Leya and Scotty are wonderful hosts and I'm sure you will enjoy the warm hospitality of the lodge. Life is short ... go fish with Scotty ... you will not regret it!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have fished all over both islands in New Zealand for over a dozen years and have sent numbers of clients to experience the thrill of stalking trophy trout in their crystalline streams. No where in New Zealand can finer, more patient and experienced, expert guides be found than Scotty Murray and his associates at River Haven. In New Zealand, fishing success is driven more by your guide than any fishery in the world. The “right” guide uses his local knowledge and access to get you on the “right” stretch of water at the best possible time, regardless of conditions. Scotty and his group definitely have the “right” stuff.

The accommodations and ambiance of River Haven’s cabins provide a comfortable and welcoming foundation for a wonderful New Zealand fly fishing experience. The overall experience provided at River Haven by Leya and Scotty Murray is as good as it gets in NZ.

Don Muelrath

Fly Fishing Adventures

www.flyfishingadventures.org

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMuelrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Come to River Haven if you want to catch fish!! This place is perfect and perfectly laid out for genuine fisherman who are interested in fly-fishing for Brown Trout. Scott is one of the best guides you will ever get. He is able to not just see the fish and/or pick where they will be but like any good guide, he works out how good you are and positions you accordingly. A trip with him is like attending a university refresher course in trout fishing.

The accommodation is also excellent. His wife, Leya, runs the accommodation. The food is good, and the service is very good . You learn a lot with Scott and you have a very comfortable time when you are not fishing. I will be going back probably on an annual basis, as long as I can crawl in and out of rivers.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went to River Haven lodge already two times and everything was perfect. I'm crazy about flyfishing and this lodge is really the place to be for trout bums like me !
When you organize a trip like this from europe you have to be sure to find the right place to stay and fish, I found there more than just a high quality lodge but friends and I feel now like at home with Leya and Scotty.
The cabins are really confortable, the guiding just fantastic and the food and wines (and this is important for french like us !) very good.
For flyfishermen a trip of a lifetime waits for you here.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have travelled from London to fish with Scott Murray every year for the last 14 years, and quite often twice a year. Scott always finds good fishing even in the most unpromising conditions. He just wants you to catch fish and enjoy yourself. He is great with beginners as well as more experienced anglers.
Scott's guiding team reflect his enthusiasm and skill. Every Lodge claims to have the best guiding team, but I have never experienced better than Riverhaven offers.
Staying at Riverhaven is always a pleasure. The cabins are luxurious, the food great and the welcome from Leya Murray is warm and solicitous. What's not to like?
I have been fortunate to have flyfished in many great destinations in the world, and have settled on brown trout in the Murchison area of New Zealand as the pinnacle of flyfishing experience. I have enjoyed every trip with Scott, catching fish from 2 to 16lbs. It's just great. I am already looking forward to my next trip.
John Part, London

Room tip: All the cabins are good. Mangles has the best wifi!
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews